rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















he's practicing for his unemployment
April 09-10, 2009

Spouse is driving me crazy today--he's off work (Easter long weekend) tonight, and pestered me all day on the phone. Calling me with such earth-shattering alerts as: "I just got up, and I�m going to vacuum!", or "I went to the store and everything on my list was on sale!"

There was even one call where he just called me to repeat some gossip he heard about Bruce Springsteen. And he even got the gossip wrong.

Now I'm home, and he's pestering me in person. AND he's forcing his company on me for virtually the entire day tomorrow--driving me to work in the morning, then picking me up after I'm through and dragging me to Chicago to pick up Polish food for Easter.

All I know is, he'd damn well better leave me the hell alone Saturday, because Sunday is going to be the worst day of all.

ALL his relatives(assholes included),at P&E's for Easter dinner.

Yep, crooked brother and womewrecker wife, slutty drama-queen stepdaughter, and Antichrist son.

But wait--there's more!

His mother.

On the plus side--Nephew will be there (with his girlfriend, yet!), and of course, P&E. But the duds are definitely outnumbering the good.


Niece, of course, won't be there at all--she's on her way to the Big Apple, for sightseeing, theatre, and her big Carnegie Hall choir concert. And I'm really, sincerely, hopelessly jealous as all get out. If someone had handed me Manhattan, Broadway, and the stage of Carnegie Hall for my sweet 16, I probably would have died of pure bliss before I even got there. Hell, if anyone handed me that NOW, I'd OD on happiness.

But especially on my 16th. I famously had the worst 16th birthday ever, barring death or catastophe. But that was 29 years ago, and what are ya gonna do?

Here's what cuts, though--if anyone, 29 years ago, had asked my 16 yr-old self what would be the most perfect possible sweet 16...

I would have answered "The Big Apple! Sightseeing! Theatre! A chance to perform at Carnegie Hall!"
I have to admit, though--dinner tonight was pretty good. He did a couple of cheap steaks on the grill, potato pancakes (frozen latkes from Trader Joes, but awesomely good nonetheless), sweet corn, and garlic toast, with ice cream for dessert.
Now I�m watching a movie I DVRed off of TCM. A 1932 Leslie Howard�Ann Harding�Myrna Loy flick called �The Animal Kingdom�, which is apparently a �pre-code� picture. Not only has Ann Harding�s unmarried character admitted�in so many words!�that she�s not a virgin, Leslie Howard just replied to a question about the weather by remarking that they had better bring the brass monkeys in tonight! I can�t imagine the Hays Office letting either of those lines go through.

I�ll have to finish it another time, though. Almost time for bed, and I�ll admit I�m ready for it. Too bad; this one is shaping up to be much better than the ridiculous 1935 Ginger Rogers movie I finished watching earlier. �In Person� was not one of her finest moments, although she did get a couple of songs and dances in that weren�t too bad. This one came immediately following Top Hat, and she got star billing, but oh, what a dumb film.
FRIDAY NOTE...to note that I went to bed last night right after writing this--completely oblivious to the fact that I hadn't actually posted it. Sheesh. Tired much?

But as long as I'm here, I may as well mention that the foodie run was successful, and we hit the Niles Polish Deli, Binney's Beverage Depot (humongous liquor store), Trader Joes, Jewel, and the Super Wally's. Picked up oodles of goodies. Of course, Spouse had to power-play it and make sure I got nothing to eat all day, then add to the torture by making me ride in a car that smelled like a sausage shop.

Reading: "The Rival Campers Ashore, Or The Mystery Of The Mill", by Ruel Perley Smith (Original Copyright 1907, New Edition 1925) Yes, more vintage juveniles.

Surfing: Watching South Park

Listening: Carl Perkins (Happy Birthday!), Cracker, Ingrid Michaelson, Warren Zevon.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com