rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















stress dream much?
March 26, 2009

I awoke at 3:22 this morning, from a dream where I got up and got ready for work, and turned to channel 9 on the TV to get the weather, like I always do...and Robin Baumgartner was announcing that my company was closing its doors due to the economy.

8:00 am on a Thursday must be the worst possible time to try and get some white toast. My fussy guts wanted dry toast and weak tea for breakfast today, and so I visited the cafeteria.

But as we near the end of the work week, they tend to let things run out. So as to avoid wasting food, I'm sure--but it really wouldn't kill them to bust out another loaf of white bread, would it?

Our company cafeteria sucks in a remarkable number of ways, and the worst, for me, is the dearth of bland foods. The cooking has become more and more hispano-centric in the last few years, to the point where there are frequently days where there isn't anything edible on the menu that I'm not either allergic to or nauseated by.

Breakfast changed more slowly, and the decline in general quality seems to be hidden under a thick layer of salsa and hot sauce. And since I unaccountably get fiery heartburn from oatmeal...at this point, I'm limited to plain toast and weak tea when I have a gastric flare-up. And any other time, I can't get much more than that, except the hard-boiled eggs (The only real eggs, they serve--all the omelets and scrambles come out of a 5-gallon bucket of yellow stuff). My toasting choices this morning were: 7-grain, cinnamon-raisin, and caraway rye, plus bagels--pumpernickel, asiago cheese, and one crusted with what appeared to be bird seed.

Not exactly what I needed for my ridiculously fussy innards.


Nor is the magnesium supplement my doctor recommended to help clear up the eczema from hell. Not for nothing is magnesium oxide commonly used as a laxative (Yep--the same thing as good old "Milk of Magnesia").

But I'm hoping that it will also do all the wonderful things that are promised for it. (If I survive it.) Prevent kidney stones, high blood pressure, mitral valve prolapse, arrhythmia, tachycardia, coronary artery spasm and other heart problems, premenstrual syndrome or menstrual cramps, insomnia, anxiety and depression, chronic constipation, hyperactivity, eczema, fatigue, insulin resistance, osteoporosis and predisposition to diabetes? Yeah, I guess I could get on board for that.

In fact, according to some studies, even a mild deficiency causes sensitivity to noise, nervousness, irritability, confusion, twitching, trembling, apprehension, and inability to concentrate.

Sound like anyone we know?

The only thing is, I also need to up the calcium, iron, and zinc, too. And that shit gets crazy-expensive.
TV Update--Okay, Best Buy doesn't suck. GEEK SQUAD SUCKS. After getting no solid answers from the geek yesterday, and not hearing back by 10:00 this morning, Spouse drove to the store and threw a grand mal hissy at the store manager.

And the manager very reasonably told him he may have a 32-inch loaner set until the situation is resolved.

Of course, I get to be the one inconvenienced by that--I had to go out of my way to go there tonight so they could take a credit card imprint for security. All I can say is, Spouse is goddam lucky I just happened to have my card on me today--I usually don't. And if I'd had to drive all the way home to get it, and then all the way back to the store, a busted set would be the least of Spouse's problems.
Spouse is already on my list, for trying to get all weaselly on the vacation plans. He could not friggin' rest until he had our vaction all figured out, planned, and booked--and now that our Black Hills sojurn is all sewn up, he's reverting to Vegas mode on me. I finally laid it out for him yesterday. NO. If he screwed me over, I would be very unhappy, and very pissed. And if he felt compelled to cancel our vacation--MY vacation--in favor of HIS vacation, he would be travelling alone.

I WILL NOT BE FORCED INTO A LAS VEGAS VACATION AGAINST MY WISHES, EVER AGAIN. The last time was just that...the LAST TIME.

Reading: �The Death Bringers�, by Dell Shannon. Another one from the book sale; this one is pristine. A book club edition that dates from 1964, and has obviously never been opened. The cover, binding and pages are all perfect, except for a light acid-yellowing in the pages, and it contained the original IBM punch-card billing from the "Dollar Mystery Guild" book club.

And "A New England Girlhood" by Lucy Larcom(1889)

Surfing: Upstage, Downstage.

Listening: Train, Lilly Allen, Aerosmith, The Blasters

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com