rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















pride (in the name of love)
February 26, 2009

My Nephew, the hero. He makes his old aunt pretty darn proud.

From the local paper:

For his quick, calm and selfless acts, (He) was recognized Wednesday by the Boy Scouts of America. He received the heroism medal, the heroism patch and a plaque during an honors ceremony held at Wheatland Center School. County Executive Jim Kreuser presented an award for bravery.

The Heroism Award is one of three types of lifesaving awards given by the national organization. It is given to a scout who has demonstrated heroism and skill in saving or attempting to save life at risk to himself.
Incidentally�I don�t take the local paper. But I have good friends--I had a text message and a voice mail before 6:30 this morning to tell me Nephew was in today�s edition.
I fully intended to post yesterday, but the combination of my big, clumsy paws and the teeny little keyboard on my new machine (I have really got to discover it�s name one of these days) resulted in me wiping out my entire post before getting the chance to save it. Since I�m not feeling very well this week, I�m not very resilient. I was too utterly demoralized to try again.

Yesterday was still pretty rough, even though I was feeling a little better. Not a lot better, but I forced myself to go in, since we had a couple of other people out and I had a demonstration to give. But it was one of those days where you are playing catch-up all day anyway, plus you have everyone clutching at you and wanting something. Most of them idiots, too.

And I�m on that list. Some of the idiocy I had to deal with yesterday was my own. A couple of small mistakes I made in the course of my humongous project. Which makes part of me want to beat my head on the ground and go AUUUGGGHHH!!!!!!!!!! like Charlie Brown�and makes another part of me breathe a huge sigh of relief that I didn�t screw up any worse than that. (Then there�s the third part of me, the tester part. That part wants to kill the testing team for not catching this!)
I�m feeling awfully homesick today. But my �home� sickness generally centers on people, rather than places. One, who I�m really missing right now, is my Mum. Funny what can send your heart panging into the past (Ask Marcel Proust!). I just made myself a cup of Lady Gray tea, and one whiff of it made SO many memories of Mum spring instantly to mind. Maybe because one�s sense of smell is so strongly tied to memory? Maybe because tomorrow is the anniversary of her death?
Or maybe because I just really, really miss her.

Sammy is on my mind today, too�although I am not really missing my little brother, so much as feeling his presence heavily. He�s just hanging around, keeping an eye on me today. Tagging along, like little brothers do, I guess. Sad news today--I just found out
Miss Brahms has died.. But interestingly, I believe Mrs, Slocombe (Molly Sugden) and Captain Peacock (Frank Thornton) are still hanging in there.

Reading: "The Distant Echo", by Val McDermid.

Surfing: Spoiler Warning! Big Love Wife Watch. Yeah, more BL.

Listening: The Alarm, The Shins, Cheap Trick.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com