rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I'm sahrry, Dahctah!
January 12, 2009

I felt like a patient of Oren Scrivello, DDS on Thursday evening. By the time they attached all the hardware to hold my lip and cheek back, and got in there grinding, scraping, screwing, poking, molding, and--in one instance--stabbing me, I must have looked like one. All that, and a thoroughly nasty epinephrine wash, too! It seems they use a foul-tasting wash of the stuff to staunch bleeding. In this case, the bleeding from accidentally stabbing me in the gums.

Yep, a fun time all around, as you can tell. And the icing on the torture cake? They show DVDs now, while you're in the chair. Sounds nice, right? Yeah, till they bring on the Keanu Reeves movies.

And I felt like shit the rest of the night--lightheaded, shaky, nauseated, and a nasty headache (from the epi hangover). And all day Friday, as well. It may have been, technically, a vacation day. But it sure felt like a sick day to me. It ended up being one of those "never get out of your bathrobe" days. My gums were sore and inflamed, I felt nauseous, and my left cheek was swollen up enough to keep my eye half shut. Warm saltwater rinses for the inside, cold packs for the outside. Advil for the pain, they said, but I still had T-3 left from the last trip, so I used it instead.


The vacation day was a good thing in more ways than one--we had another snowstorm on Friday, and I was glad to stay home nad not have to fight it. Ditto for Saturday, actually--same again. Yes, yet another snowstorm. I spent the morning on the phone for a gab with my mom, and since the roads were so bad, Spouse and I drove out to pick up Nephew so he wouldn't have to drive in. We went to Dino's for dinner, and despite being on a soft diet, I did just fine. Chicken Pastino soup, cheese manicotti, and Grace's cheesecake, as is my standard dessert there. With a twist, this time--they now offer blackberries on top. I didn't get to enjoy the wonderful chewiness of their homemade Calabrese-style bread (I had some, but I dipped it in my soup), but I enjoyed the heck out of my dinner, just the same. Even had a glass of "dago red" with it.

After dinner, we went to see "Gran Torino", with a packed house. When I saw the crowd, I was glad I'd spent a good portion of Friday fighting with the movietickets.com website, so I could do an advance ticket purchase. (I swear--everytime I try to use it, I have another set of issues. Does it have a melt-down EVERY Friday?) I hadn't seen a crowded house like that since "The Mummy Returns", back in...what? 2001?

A mature crowd, however, and it wasn't too annoying to have that many people around. We got our favorite seats, anyway. I thought I was going to have trouble with the guy behind me, since it was apparent that he was a nervous foot-tapper. But once the movie started, he settled right down. Must have just been excited for the film to start. I do just want to note here that I really want to see the following, based on the trailers I saw:
"Taken", a thriller starring Liam Neeson
"The Soloist", with Jamie Foxx and Robert Downey Jr. as Nathaniel Ayers and Steve Lopez. I don't know how true to the actual story that one will be, but I expect it to be kind of like "The Bucket List"--one of those movies you watch for the sheer pleasure of watching two major talents play off against each other.

Okay. "Gran Torino".
Very, very good.
All of the elements that made "classic, old-school Clint" movies so great, meeting and melding with all of the thoughtful, deeper style of his more recent work. A personal masterpiece, a tour-de-force, yada. I'm not a movie reviewer. It's just good.

I just wish I could have seen it with my dad, for old time's sake. He and I went to a lot of Clint movies back in the day. It's something we share, and I think he really would love this one. I hope he goes to see it.
Speaking of Dad--I'm really worried about my folks. With business practically non-existent and their portfolio devastated by the current economic crisis, they can't afford retirement and they can't afford to stay in business. Dad is holding on by the skin of his teeth, and it's breaking his heart to see everything he's worked so hard for for the last 24 years go down the tubes. I don't know if it's a guy thing, or a control-freak thing, but Dad is another one, like Spouse and P, that actually takes it harder when things go bad for reasons out of his control. All this shit is killing him.

If there was one reason for me to wish I still believed in religion, it would have to be this: I want all the bastards responsible for BREAKING THE WHOLE DAMN PLANET to BURN IN ETERNAL HELLFIRE for what they've done to my parents.
I may have been a bit hasty in assuming my Weetamix CD got "skimmed" by somebody at the post office--apparently there was just a bit of a mixup with her holiday mailings, and she sent an email to let us know.
JTV watch: Well, it shipped late Thursday, I got it today--and it's very pretty. It arrived with the chain badly knotted, but the chain is too short and too delicate for the pendant, anyway. I've already changed it over to one of my good ones. It's a nice size, if a little big to be convincing. I have to have something that isn't going to get lost on my massive bod, so I don't think I'd want it any smaller.

I plan on wearing it to work tomorrow--if I make it there. We are under the threat of blizzard conditions for tonight until tomorrow noon. In addition, we are expected to get bitter cold, severe wind chills, and another blizzard watch is already forcast for Wednesday. By Thursday, the HIGH is expected to be between three below and one above.

I'm too old for this shit.

Reading: "Rumpole Misbehaves", by John Mortimer.

Surfing: Weather Underground. For the latest on the impending Blizzard. Yeesh.

Listening: Collective Soul, My Morning Jacket, The Cure, Franz Ferdinand, The Fixx

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com