rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















schmerz im meinem sitzplatz
September 10, 2008

Feeling better today�gut-wise, anyway. Mr. B was quite concerned last night, and did his best to tend to me. Which, for my affectionate and goofy mutt, means he was glued to me all night and evening. I didn't mind, because he's like a big, fuzzy hot-water bottle. It was quite comforting, actually. But since he's 81 pounds now, it can be suffocating at times.


Now if work would just ease off and quit being such a monumental pain in the ass, maybe I could perk up a little.

Who am I kidding? That place never lets up. Just as it seemed I was getting to a point where I could breathe, a new project comes down the pike--an immense, sweeping project. A complete re-design of one of our main apps.

For which I must act not only as the requirements specification analyst, but also as the designer and programmer. And that's so many kinds of wrong, I can't process it. But knowing that place? They'll have me testing it, too.

Oh, and here's the kicker: I'm not permitted to even start the analysis until October. And it has to be designed, built, and ready to test by mid-November.

Can I go lay down, now?
Well, summer didn't feel a need to linger this year--it got here a month late, but left promptly--two days after Labor Day. It's been cool-to-chilly and frequently rainy ever since. I can't swim, my flowers are nearly dead, and the leaves are already clogging my back yard. But my grass is green again.

Shitty trade-off, if you ask me.
abrupt topic change:
Why is it that every time I argue with a Republican, they assume I'm a Democrat, and vice-versa? For the record, I am neither. Hello, America? It is possible to go a different way. I don't belong to any party, because guess what? I don't friggin' have to. Even if I found a party that professed to be in agreement with my stand on every issue, I probably wouldn't join. I know this country has a collective cultural hang-up about belonging, but I'm a freak. I don't really like people very much, and I don't trust large groups with any kind of agenda.

Maybe the next time someone asks me my political affiliation, I'll just tell them "I'm an Individual".

Reading: "The Player on the Other Side" by Ellery Queen.

Beading: no

Surfing: NO. Everything is so damned political right now, it's pissing me off too much. I'm trying to stay offline, because you know what they say about arguing on the internet...

Listening: No. Now that I have my antenna back, I perversely feel like shutting off the radio. But it's time to clean out and re-stock Mr. Pilkington, because I'm kind of bored with him, too.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com