rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















time for this week's job hate
July 17, 2008

HATE.

HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE.

HATE.

Here's what set that off: I have a project where I'm facilitating some data-gathering for another department. I'm not doing anything but sending out requests for the info, consolidating 200 responses into a comprehensive worksheet, and forwarding it to the department that needs it.

And there is nothing in the world that sucks more than that middle position--because people will blow you off and ignore you completely.
Or won't answer until you've provided them with in-depth answers to their 759 fucking stupid meaningless questions.

OR--they just flat--out refuse to answer, coming back at you with responses such as the one that set me off: "I don't know what you want, and frankly, I don't have time to figure it out."

Well, what I wanted yould be the answer to three questions. ALL OF WHICH could be answered with a simple YES or NO.

This from an officer of the company, no less. Charming. But--this is my lot in life now. I hate it with the hot heat of a thousand suns, but I have a mortgage.


So, anyway. Every day is a battle. And yesterday, I was losing. I was "closerthanthat" to just breaking down and crying for most of the day. And I don't have the fucking foggiest idea why. Sometimes, I just feel like an open wound.

I've always felt like "normal" people have a natural pair of rose-colored glasses that allows them to filter out at least some of the awfullness of life, permitting them to be occasionally happy. And I don't.

Anyway, that was only one piece of yesterday's hellishness. I got two more projects dumped in my lap, for the same reason I get a lot of projects dumped in my lap: The person originally assigned to them simply blew them off untill there was a deadline looming, and then my boss gave them to me, so that they would get done quickly and correctly. AND--she also sucker-punched me with the declaration that even though it was a completely different department's responsibility to create a project flow for one of my assigned projects, she expected ME to do it.

I don't even HAVE the fucking Visio app. Because...you know--that's a completely different fucking department.
Is it any wonder that my entire evening got swallowed up by stress exhaustion? I stretched out on the bed to listen to a podcast at about 7:00 last night. Next thing I know, it's 10:30.

Reading: "Sad Cypress", by Agatha Christie.

Beading: On Hiatus.

Surfing: No particular one link, just a lot of news sites. What's Sadie got to bitch about? She IS out of prison. A hospital bed is NOT a prison cot, and I'm sure she'll be made more comfortable at her deathbead than Gary, Steven, Sharon, Jay, Abigail, Wojciech, Rosemary, or Leno were...

Listening: to my heart tell me that everything about my life is totally wrong and fucked up.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com