rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















ouch. and ouch.
July 14, 2008

Well, I guess I was overdue for one of those GAHHH! Where did my post go?! moments. Since I started writing my posts in notepad and then moving them to DL, it hasn�t happened as often, but fuck if it didn�t happen today. So be warned, world: what follows is utter shit, compared to the "perfect jewel of a post" that has been lost forever.


Tennis elbow hurts like a bitch. And the fact that I haven�t picked up a racquet in years doesn�t diminish it any.

Icing, compression, and bracing are a piece of cake. But elevation and rest�not so much. It�s my dominant arm, and I need it to do�well, pretty much everything. So once again I find myself in the position of having to give up all the fun stuff so I can save my limited resources for my job and my chores.

Well, I may be willing to sideline the beading, and go light on the recreational PC time, but I�ll be damned if I�m going to give up any more swimming. If the weather permits, I�m going in. I am trying to go easy on the arm-work, though. I�m making up for it with lots of holding onto the raft and kicking, as well as some aqua-sizes to work on the torso.
Floral pride link� check out these petunias! I love petunias. They�re my favorite yard flower. Partly because they actually grow for me, I think�but also because they are showy and colorful and smell nice and don�t require too much fuss.

I took this shot on the 4th of July, and I just love it. Normally, if I try to shoot flowers in strong sunlight, they just seem washed out�but these seem to glow. It�s a happy photo. So I made it my desktop wallpaper at work.
So I broke down and ordered myself some stuff from Amazon the other day. I�ve been behaving myself lately, credit card- wise, but when you can�t find what you want on a cash basis, you need to go online�and that means flexing the plastic.

Here�s what I got:
A DVD copy of a movie I absolutely adored when I was 15. �The Promise�, starring Kathleen Quinlan, Stephan Collins, and Beatrice Straight. Synopsis here. Sappy, unbelievable, stuff�but I saw it once and it stayed with me forever. I don�t have a really good memory for movies unless I�ve seen them several times, but this one left a number of landmarks in my brain. The theme, for one. Melissa Manchester singing " I'll Never Say Goodbye" was pure gold. Others stuff that stuck with me: the righteously awesome converted firehouse Kathleen Quinlan lived in, Stephen Collins acting his heart out, Beatrice Straight embodying calculated evil, Larry Luckenbill being suave, and a stupid, off-hand joke a minor character told at a cocktail party.

Now, I�m guessing it isn�t going to hold up particularly well. And any screenplay sappy enough to require Danielle Steele to do the �novelization� was probably pretty silly to begin with. But hey! Who doesn�t love a cheesy 1970s romantic melodrama? All I know is, I cannot fucking wait to pull this out of the mailbox, stick in the DVD player, and see it again.

And in order to score the free shipping, I got a cast recording of Brigadoon. I have a couple of copies of this show floating around, including the movie soundtrack�but so many productions have cut out Meg�s brilliant comic number �The Love Of My Life�, and to me, the show just isn�t quite right without it. The 1991 London Studio Cast Recording does. Finally, a recording of �Brigadoon� that includes my favorite song! Another one I can�t wait for. I don�t know how good this version is, but Judy Kaye voices Meg, so I have a hunch it ain�t gonna suck.

I was hoping they would have come today, but no such luck. They shipped out of the north suburbs of Chicago on Friday, so they'll probably be here tomorrow.
I was really hoping I'd get the call on my new glasses today. When I was there on the 26th, they said 10 days to two weeks, and it's been two and a half weeks already. Another one of the drawbacks of with a small, independant outfit. But the small outfits are the only optometrists who take the darned insurance.

So I took it upon myself to call, and sure enough--they had come in. Nice of them to let me know, but whatcha gonna do? I stopped and picked them up after my chiro appointment.

Now I just have to get used to the damn things. Maybe it's just because the Rx is so different, but seriously--these feel totallly wrong right now. They're reasonably cute, though. And they did the polishy thing on the edges, which I like.

Of course, when I asked for the total after insurance last week, the lady forgot to add in the anti-scratch coating, so they ended up being 63 bucks more than I had on me. So I'm broke, and I STILL owe them money.

Oh, well. At least my chiro rocks. I mentioned the tennis elbow and he gave me a series of exercises to do that he says are really effective for dealing with it.
That's enough for now--I'm going to go out back and hit the pool.

Reading: "Tied Up In Tinsel", by Ngaio Marsh. A �Roderick Alleyn�. And one I�m quite fond of, since it features Alleyn�s marvelous wife, the portrait artist Agatha Troy. Troy was a character decades ahead of her time. She was smart, independent, distinguished in her career, and perfectly capable of taking care of herself. And a very well realized work of fiction, I�ve always thought. I�ve always been drawn to the character�and her Character.

Beading: Alas, on hold once more�until this danged arm stops hurting.

Surfing: Tearjerkers. This list meets my minimum requirement--it includes "Now, Voyager". I have some issues with it, nonetheless. These things are so subjective, aren't they?

Listening: Dr. Hook and the Medicine Show, Van Morrison. News flash: �Brown-Eyed Girl� still makes me cry .

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com