rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















social injustice and other things that cause me pain
July 03, 2008

"Same-sex couples from Wisconsin who go to California to marry could face criminal charges when they return home.

A Wisconsin law makes it a criminal offense to enter into a marriage outside the state if that marriage were illegal in Wisconsin.

The law was passed decades ago to prevent underage couples from crossing state lines to marry, but it could be used against same-sex couples, The Capital Times of Madison reported Wednesday.

The penalty is a fine of up to $10,000, nine months in prison, or both."


If Wisconsin acts on this, I give up. If I have to, I'll do something I swore I never would. I'll move to friggin' Illinois.
I didn't get a whole lot done last night, it turned out. I passed out on the couch sometime after 7:00, and that was pretty much all she wrote. I never even got my clothes laid out for the day.

And I still felt like re-heated death this morning. Honestly, it'll be a miracle if my cycle doesn't kill me before I get to menopause.
I was looking forward to the drive to work this morning, smug in the knowledge that there would be a lot of commuters with the day off today.

But I forgot one crucial fact: Amateurs.

All those clueless, hesitant, lost souls setting off on their long-holiday-weekend jaunts, thinking they are getting an early start, and tooling along like they had all the time in the world. Crazy-making.
My husband The guy who squats at my house has invited company over this weekend. I informed him that since I was not consulted prior to the invitation being extended, I would not be doing any cooking or cleaning in preparation for the event. Or attending, for that matter. I'm tired to death of him treating me like his unpaid house slave. He just goes merrily on his way and makes any plan he wants, trusting that I'll pick up the slack and do all the drudgery necessary to enable his freedom.

Um, that's over. If--IF he does everything that needs to be done to have his little party, that's fine, and no harm, no foul. But I AM NOT doing it for him.
My company has been telling us for two weeks that we would be getting a "surprise gift" this week, in honor of the 4th. We got it today.

It was a cheap ballpoint pen.

And nothing says Independance Day like an American Flag pen.

Unless, of course, it's American Flag pen emblazoned with MADE IN CHINA across the stripes.

Reading: Finishing the latest EQMM. Need to go to the library.

Beading: DNA spiral--#8 seeds in shades of pink.

Surfing: TCM Book Corner. Books about movie stars...sweet! I want to read the Roz Russell, Jerry Maron, Fred Astaire, and Christopher Plummer bios. They have the Astaire autobiography at the library--further incentive to go.

Listening: Duffy, Concrete Blonde, Leonard Cohen.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com