rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















pot luck
June 20, 2008

Product notes:

Tyson "Anytizers" Tequila-Lime Chicken Wings are damned good for a convenience item. Looking for something reasonably priced, easy, and protein-based for a work-related potluck, I picked a bag of these. I loaded up the crockpot and took them in yesterday--everyone loved them. Including me, surprisingly. I usually don't go for that sort of product for a potluck, but I didn't want to spend a lot of time on making something from scratch. But these were quite tasty, and people snapped them all up. I got 2.25 lbs (10% more free)for $7.79, and all I had to do was heat them up in the oven, dump them into the crockpot, and we were good to go. I give them a ****.

And the smartest thing I did was put one of these in the crock before I added the wings. Wise move several ways--there is the obvious advantage of not having to scrub gunk out of the pot, but when you are potlucking, there are the added advantages of being able to twist-tie the contents up on the way there to avoid spills, and not having to drive that funky, gunky mess all the way home in your car. I give them a *****.


I stopped by W&T's place on the way home yesterday, to see if they might be interested in going to see Rent at BHS. They were, but unfortunately, it turned out I couldn't get tickets. Those kids are so brilliant, they always sell out. Dammit.

Anyway, I'll probably go over and hang with them tonight, anyway, even though it means that...

Can I just mention that I love my flaky friends?

My flaky friends that, though in their forties, still play with dolls?

These dolls.

Dolls that they play with, sew for, write stories about, and incorporate into their RPGs. RPGs that already involve faeries, magic, vampires and werewolves.

And...I have to go to a doll wedding next Saturday.

A dish-to-pass doll wedding, no less. I have to make baked beans and pasta salad for...a doll wedding. (If I repeat those words enough times maybe they'll start to sound normal?)

I adore these women, and have always appreciated their embrace of the offbeat and quirky.

But things are starting to shift from "quirky" to "disturbing".

Reading: "The Witness at the Wedding", by Simon Brett. Number 6 in the series.

Beading: I finished the silver and crystal bracelet I was making for myself. I wore it all day at work yesterday, to much oohing and aahing and personal gratification, and then spent a half-hour after work retracing my steps, because I lost it on the way out to go home. I finally found it near my car--it must have fallen off just as I was getting in. (For the next mom bracelet, the bead order has shipped and I'm awaiting delivery.)

Surfing: Online game. What are they putting in the Dilly Bars over at DQ Central these days?

Listening: B-52s, Sister Hazel, Sarah McLachlan , and Sweet. (Its...Its...A Ballroom Blitz!)

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com