rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















floods, flowers, furry friend freakouts
June 18, 2008

Even with calling my parents, and writing a long post, I managed to spend a couple hours out in the yard last night. Puttering around, watering, deadheading, cleaning up dog doo, putting the trash on the curb, etc. It was actually the first time I�ve had to water the flowers since I planted them a month ago, so I�m afraid I didn�t develop the habit very well. They were tragic when I finally remembered. The hanging baskets of pentas and petunias were the worst, and while the pentas popped right back, I�m afraid I may have done some permanent damage to the basket of petunias.


While the flood has crested for most of the areas where I have family, I can�t relax yet, because the levee that protects my uncle�s farm south of Burlington is currently in jeopardy. We�ll know by tonight if it held through the crest, but with the way this �500 year flood� is blowing through levees, there is no certainty that this one will hold.
Having relatives all up and down the Cedar, the Iowa, and the Mississippi rivers in eastern Iowa has led to some prolonged stress in this family.
I have it on good authority (Hello, Auntie!) that I do not write enough here about The Fabulous Mr. B, so I am hereby doing so.

He�s fine. Happy, healthy, affectionate, sweet-tempered, and fun. Don�t get me wrong, please�I adored my Raji, my Brunsie, the lovely Noee, and every other dog I�ve ever had. But �LaBiche� is, hands down, the absolute best dog I�ve ever owned. And I enjoy having him in my life every single day. He rocks.

In fact, he�s so well-balanced that I was beginning to wonder if he had any weird little quirks or sensitivities, like all my other dogs have had. Other than trying to stifle your sneezes for you (with his face), I mean.

Then I �buzzed� at him. Made a simple zzzzzz noise. He. Went. Apeshit.
Ran and hid, shaking all over, and avoided me for almost an hour after. His freaked-out reaction freaked ME out, to tell the truth.

So, solemn pact between Spouse and me--we won�t buzz at the dog anymore. Just too upsetting for him.

And a few days later, Spouse hooted at him. Hoo! Hoo! Like an owl.

The B reacts�extremely. Sort of like the sneeze, where he covers your face with his. Only more extreme. He tries to cover your entire body with his entire body. Weirdo.

So, the dog has his quirks. And in a weird and quirky way, that makes me think he�s even more perfect.
It�s so lovely lately, I am really kicking myself for procrastinating on finishing the pool prep. I could have gotten it done last weekend if I�d just kicked myself into gear, but I had a case of the droopies and just couldn�t get it together. Now, I have perfect weather, but no ladder and a chemical imbalance.

Oh, well. Maybe my procrastination is what ordained a dry week. If I�d gotten the pool open, we�d have had another three days of rain.

Tonight, I�d like to do some beading, but I really want to take advantage of the weather and spend time outside. Maybe I�ll take my beads and go sit at the patio table. Kill two for one. Mr. B would be in favor�he loves it when his mom and/or dad go hang in the backyard with him.

As long as we don't hoot, sneeze, or buzz, anyway.

Reading: "The Hanging in the Hotel", by Simon Brett.

Beading: Silver and crystal bracelets. Except I've been kinda busy, so...not.

Surfing: more buck64aday. One guy�s way of spending his stimulus check�1/365th at a time.

Listening: Roy Orbison, Warren Zevon, Cowboy Junkies.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com