rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















#23
June 16, 2008

We celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary this weekend. The actual day was yesterday, but we celebrated on Saturday, first by going out and buying an Aqua-Critter at Water Warehouse, and later, by going to The Milwaukee Chophouse, for dinner.

The Aqua-Critter looks like a yellow ladybug, and cleans like a sumbitch. I love it.

The dinner was an outstanding and lovely. Spouse had French Onion Soup, the New York Strip, and a huge baked potato (Fresh Chives!). I had the salad special: Insalata Caprese. Made with fresh, homemade mozzarella, heirloom Brandywine tomatoes, and fresh basil, with balsamic vinegar and a very light sprinkling of sel gris. I followed that with a perfectly gorgeous rib-eye and asparagus saut�ed in ma�tre d' butter.

And after we�d finished, the management treated us to coffee and a huge slab of rich chocolate cake, since we were celebrating! It really is a lovely place. Located in the Hilton, and great parking, great service, and great food. **** from me, on that one.


Really, aside from cleaning the pool with our new critter, and the aforementioned dinner out, we didn�t do much this weekend. I got the minimum required amount of laundry done, bought a birthday gift for a friend, and ran a couple of errands. That�s about it.
Spouse was being so utterly sweet and thoughtful and attentive this weekend, it almost made me nuts, trying to figure out what he was up to. So finally I just up and asked him.

Turns out that he�s rested. Now that he�s had his knee (sort of) fixed, the knee pain has subsided to the point where he can actually get some sleep, and he�s reverting back to the sweet guy I used to know and love. It�s been so long, I�d almost forgotten about that guy.

Kinda nice to have him back.

Reading: "The Hanging in the Hotel", the next in line of the Fethering mysteries by Simon Brett. I�m working my way through the entire series this summer.

Beading: The customer who bought the mother�s bracelet for her daughter showed it to her other daughter, and now that daughter wants one as well. Luckily, she has the same number of children, with the same number of letters, so I can make it in the same pattern as the other. I placed the bead order, and the waiting game begins. Fortunately, I have a gap project�I�m laying out some assorted Chinese and Swarovski crystals and silver spacers�leftovers from other projects, mostly�for a simple bracelet.

Surfing: more Fine Lines. �Deenie� is another well-remembered childhood read.

Listening: Todd Rundgren, Steely Dan, The Blues Brothrs, Roy Orbison.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com