rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the rest of the vacay
May 19, 2008

Friday was spent entirely in my pajamas, and almost entirely at the PC. Spouse went back to work, and I stayed home and kicked back in my own geeky way.

And on deciding I was thoroughly sick of Spouse�s whinging on and on about his knee, I checked our plan benefits, researched in network orthopedists and presented him with a list of local doctors affiliated with his hospital. He made an appointment for Wednesday afternoon (apparently orthos don�t consider that golf day?), and we shall soon see (I HOPE!) what�s what. That quack GP of his was certainly no help at all.


Saturday was May 17th, which is not only Norwegian Constitution Day, you know. It is also my �once-a-year, you�ve got to clean out your car� day. I found a lot of stuff I�d forgotten about, as well as a mysterious proof set of coins that had to belong to Nephew, as he is the only coin collector in my life. Once I�d de-trashed the interior, I took it over to the local �Car Spa� and had it put through the super-deluxe wash. They vacuumed, cleaned the mats, polished the inside glass, wiped down all interior surfaces, then scrubbed the wheels, washed and waxed it, hand-dried it, applied tire shine, and deodorized the interior. I hardly recognized the old girl when they had finished with her.

And we ran a few errands, hired a guy to do the yard-work, and grilled out some steaks for dinner. Quite an enjoyable sort of a day.

Sunday stuff�We had Nephew�s Boy Scout Pancake breakfast in the morning. We greeted him with our best Stewie Griffin �click-click-bloody-click PANCAKES!�, and that got a laugh out of him. He is having sinus surgery this week, so he was a little bit down, but perked up when I showed him the coin set I�d found in the car.

He was full of the news that someone had broken into their rental house the night before. He figured that whoever it was didn�t realize anyone was home, so when he heard the noises and went to investigate (baseball bat in hand), they booked it out of there pretty fast and didn�t get anything. But his mom was pretty freaked out, considering her two teenagers were home by themselves, and anything could have happened. They hate where they are living, and cannot wait for July when the new house (in their old neighborhood) is complete.

After we got done at the Pancake Breakfast, we headed up to Milwaukee to give P&E their souvenirs (the Bouchon cookbook for P and a box of Ethel M chocolates for E.). They seemed to be pretty pleased with what we�d picked out.

Then they decided that we had to experience the Wii. I have to admit it was pretty cool. I smoked E three out of three at �Smarty Pants� (the trivia game), and then P spanked me at bowling and tennis.

We excused ourselves after that, pleading the need to run to Sendik�s for coffee and a few other foodly luxuries. (Like freeze-dried freakin� blackberries, which are OMG fabulous little rascals for nibbling. And also pretzel-bread rolls, and French peasant mini-baguettes, and some French onion dip that Spouse is addicted to.)

But when it came to the game, Spouse was pretty impressed with the whole thing�so much so that he did a little checking on availability on the way home. None to be had, naturally. Apparently Wednesday is the best day to find one, according to the sales clerks. Sundays, you�d have the best luck if you were there at opening. Best Buy told us they had sold out of 30 units between 9:00 and 1:30 yesterday.

I don�t know if he plans to pursue it or not, but I think I�d actually like to have one. I�m not real big on that sort of thing�my last game system was SuperNintendo�but it isn�t as if I dislike computer games; I play Bookworm, Zuma, Cubis 2, Bejeweled, and Flipwords all the time. And I used to be quite formidable at games like Super Mario Brothers, Dr. Mario, and Donkey Kong Country. Anyway, I really, really enjoyed it yesterday, and could see myself getting a lot of fun out of a Wii.

Then we came home, and I put a pot roast on for dinner before retiring to the computer for some futzing with photos and MP3s. Another quiet evening.
Monday--Back to work day. And really, the less said about this, the better. There is nothing like some time off to help clearly define all the individual components that go into a bad job.

You know, I�m pretty sure that any job I can forget so completely in 9 short days is not the job for me. Nothing about it engages my mind sufficiently for it to even register as familiar. I feel like an freakin� amnesiac.

And none of it is made easier when you have to wrangle your nicotine addiction back onto a regular schedule.
As for this evening, I�m having a peasant dinner of chili and good bread and iced tea, and I will probably just go out and exercise the dog, then pop in a DVD and veg out in the comfy chair.

Reading: David McCullough�s �John Adams�.

Surfing: How I Spent My Stimulus.

Listening: NPR, Steely Dan, Wicked OCR.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com