rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















how to know that god hates you
May 09, 2008

re: the title--
My boss, who never, ever takes a whole week off at a time, is taking a whole week off.

The same week I am.


Honestly, I shouldn't be writing this. I have a shitload of stuff to do to get ready for the trip. But I'm so heavy and tired and miserable that just the thought of everything I need to get done makes me want to curl up into a ball and die.

Or sit in the dark and play Bookworm. Really, I could go either way.
But no. I need to do laundry and do something with my nails and make my packing list and pack the dog's kennel supplies and shave my hairy self and so forth. I just don't want to.

We went to the bank when I got off work today, and converted our "stimulus" money to traveler's checks. Then I went and tickled the economy a little by buying myself a new suitcase. I haven't had a new one in about twelve years, and while my old Perry Ellis bag is still in pretty good shape, it's always been a bit ungainly. And these days, a bit old-fashioned.

So I got myself a nice 26-inch rolling duffel. It's a Jeep, khaki and black, with a nice skate wheels and retractable pull-handle. Just the right size for the kind of trips we take, 3 or four days at a time. It was only forty bucks, and it came with a neat little ditty bag that has speakers built in, and a handy little pocket for your MP3. It wasn't the prettiest bag in the store, but I got a Jeep because Spouse's has been such a damned good one. He's had his for about eight years, and it has stood up well to a lot of miles of hard abuse from his field service days. I'd be happy if mine does half that well.

To be honest, for the past few years I haven't worried too much about luggage. We've just taken Spouse's huge duffel, plus a smaller bag for stuff like shoes and shaving kits. But now that the airlines are imposing luggage weight restrictions on a per-person basis, bag-sharing won't (you should excuse the expression) fly. Everybody has to have their own. Somehow it makes sense to penalize the two people with one large bag and one carry-on, when there are folks with twice the weight we pack who come in under the rules? Seems pretty stupid to me. But part of what's wrong in this world these days is the removal of good judgement from the mix. Common sense has been wiped away by the heavy hand of zero-tolerance, one-size-fits-all, rubber-stamp rules.

Wow. I didn't mean to go off on a tear, there. I just wanted to talk about my new luggage!

And put off getting my ass to work.

Reading: �John Adams�, by David McCullough. Hey--I'm about halfway. At this rate, I'll be finished by June! A lot of book to wade through. It's worth the wade, though.

Surfing: The Waffle Whiffer Zone. A good place for me to break off an occasional piece of my childhood and chew on it.

Listening: Jim Cullum Band, B-52s, more Blues Brothers.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com