rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















you wish you had an aunt like me. seriously.
May 04, 2008

So much for a nap. I had too many things I needed to do this afternoon. I left work early, since I had worked late earlier in the week, and I stopped for a couple of things at the drugstore. And found something I really needed. A set of Phillips in-ear headphones that came with three different cap sizes for a perfect fit. Sure, I paid twenty bucks for them, but they are a huge improvement over the set that came with Montague. Those things would be to big for Mr. B�s ears.

And Spouse and I finally got over to the tax lady�s to get the returns signed, and went ad got some lunch, and spent some time planning our first vacation in over two years, and what with one thing and another--no nap. I�m going out with W tonight, so no early bedtime, either. Well, at least tomorrow is Saturday, and I can sleep in a little.


I am halfway to being the greatest aunt in the world. I ordered Nephew�s heart�s desire this morning. The kid is a geek for Stephen King�s �The Stand� (as I was before him) and loves the miniseries. He�s seen in on Sci-Fi, and I even rented the precious �only rental copy in the city� for him a while back, but he yearns for a copy of his own, even though it�s out of print.

So his favorite aunt hunted down a copy, in Texas, reputed to be brand new and factory sealed, for $40 plus shipping. I ordered it this morning, and I just got the USPS mailing confirmation a minute ago. It this dealer is as truthful as to condition as he is speedy, I�ll be writing some gushing feedback on him.

And Nephew will be over the moon next week.

Now all I have to do is find something equally perfect for Niece (whose birthday is two days after Nephew�s), and I will be all the way to being the perfect aunt.

Damn. No pressure.
Well, this will have to be a short one, because I need to go get cleaned up and ready to go out. I have no idea where we�ll end up going, but I�m looking forward to it nonetheless. W and I don�t get to spend nearly enough time together, and as for time when her partner isn�t around, that�s nearly impossible. The problem with a best friend in a same sex relationship is that her spouse isn�t automatically excluded by the magic phrase �girl�s night out�. I like T and all, but sometimes you just want to hang with your bestest oldest friend, just the two of you. How do you bitch to your friend about your partner if she�s always there?

Reading: "The Survivors Club", by Lisa Gardner.

Surfing: Big Love Recaps. That guy I linked yesterday was the season two recapper. A favorite blogger, a favorite show, a delightful convergence.

Listening: Counting Crows, Sarah McLachlan, Peter Gabriel

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com