rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the governor can do what?
April 02, 2008, 5:16 P.M.

Well, the real reason I went to vote yesterday was the referendum:

Partial Veto. Shall section 10 (1) (c) of article V of the constitution be amended to prohibit the governor, in exercising his or her partial veto authority, from creating a new sentence by combining parts of two or more sentences of the enrolled bill?

Yeah�our governor can actually frigging do that. Actually, he can go so far as to cross out individual letters in the words to make it read his way. How sick is that?

The ref. Passed by 71% of the vote. But even with this amendment in place, the line-item veto is crazy-powerful in WI. He can still cross out text. For an obvious and ridiculous instance: any bill reading �shall not� could be changed to �shall not.

Wonder what were they smoking when they put that in back in 1930? Well, I guess they were just thinking that the wording could be vague because the spirit would be respected. And it pretty much was, up until the 1970�s, when things started getting �creative�.

Of course, Doyle has managed to take creativity to a new high since he came to power.

Oh�the mayor�s race? �Antaramian Light� (�Forward�) beat out �Moran 2.0� (�A New Direction�) by a sizable margin. Like it matters. Crime will continue to go up, my taxes will continue to go up, those tax dollars will continue to be spent on stupid shit, and the holes in my street will just keep getting deeper.

As a brilliant friend of mine once said: �Narrow streets breed narrow minds. Welcome to Kenosha�.


Well, I didn�t achieve much last night. This is why I hate the whole �cooking dinner� thing. By the time you prepare it, eat it and clean up after it, there�s a whole two hours shot out of your evening. Even a simple, cheater�s delight sort of meal like last night�s left a sinkful of dishes.

So I just ripped more CDs and played some bookworm. I should have stretched out on the couch and watched John Adams�but perversely, that seems to take more energy that futzing at the computer. Maybe tonight.

And I need to name my device. Most objects seem to announce their names to me, but this one is not offering up anything. Maybe I�ll name it Montague Pilkington III; then I can call it MP3 for short�wait. Maybe not.

Reading: "The Survivors Club", by Lisa Gardner.

Surfing: Retrodress. I can look at vintage dresses for hours�just don�t ask me to wear a dress.

Listening: Busy pawing through stacks of CDs�I�ve unearthed some Mary Chapin Carpenter, my Mandy Patinkin/Sondheim set, and even some Concrete Blonde.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com