rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















exercise in democracy futility
April 01, 2008, 2008

I hate to admit it, but I�m having such fun with my new Sansa! I spent last evening going through my music, downloading, uploading, and generally stuffing about 110 Songs onto it. I suppose I�ll do some more tonight, but I don�t know�I�ve got that hideous fatigue again today. Maybe I�ll just stretch out on the couch and watch John Adams. Once I get all the "haftas" out of the way, anyway.


I should do my nails�I was going to last night, but it�s too hard to go in and out of CD Jewel cases without ruining fresh nails. And truly, they look surprisingly good for day 6. Maybe I�ll just see if I can hold out till Friday and then take them in for some pro maintenance.
One thing I did have to take care of on my way home�I needed to participate in some community April Folly, i.e. the local mayoral election. Let�s see�do I want to vote for the guy who wants to demolish city hall (catchphrase: �A New Direction�)? Or the one who thinks the first thing we should do is tear down all the firehouses (catchphrase: �Forward�)?

Spouse refers to the �New Direction� in question as �Completely Fucking Sideways�, and he�s pretty much right. The candidate in question has held the job in the past,only to quit, and thereby miss a recall by a hairsbreadth.

The other guy is the hand-picked, personally endorsed heir-apparent of the outgoing douchebag we've been putting up with for the last sixteen years.

Whoever wins, it isn't going to be K-Town that comes out on top.
I also put out the trash and recycling, that weekly source of ill will around here. I say it's his job. He replies, "Then why don't you leave it and I'll do it when I come home?" I counter with "Because I don't have time to do it in the morning!" grumble grumble grumble. But it's true--if I leave it for him, he just blows it off and I have to do it in the middle of all my morning rushing around.

So naturally, since I'm tired, and I'm already pissed--tonight is the night he wants home cooking.

And though I appear to be giving in, it is only in the most passive aggressive way. Roasted chicken breasts, sure--but with canned gravy, microwave peas, and some mashed potatoes from a plastic bag.

And I'm still not sure I've got the energy for it.

Reading: "The Survivors Club", by Lisa Gardner. Although I�m spending more time playing with the Sansa than reading.

Surfing: Language Log Pleasant pedantry.

Listening: Some favorite old soundtracks--The Commitments, Pump Up the Volume), and Still Breathing). R&B, Alt Rock, and Jazz, respectively.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com