rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















spring upswing
March 14, 2008

Freshly cropped hair and perfect eyebrows? Check.
Manicured nails painted in a bright and kicky color like OPI Atomic Orange? Check.
A brand new handbag, in a soft and scrumptious coral? Check.
Driving around town with the windows down and the stereo blaring? Check.


I must have a case of spring fever.


Actually, after my busy afternoon shopping and primping and running errands, I really have a bad case of �I need a nap�. Oil changed, banking done, eyebrows waxed, hair shampooed, cut, and styled, dry cleaning picked up, and several stops on my handbag hunt. Yawn. I�m worn out. That�s about five things too many when I�m just coming out of hibernation. It was fun, though.

I was wandering around the purses at Kohl�s, thinking that the only bags that were pretty were too cheaply made, the only Nine and Company bag I came close to liking was basically last winter�s style in last summer�s color, and wondering how I was going to follow up rose-pink and apple-green, my two previous spring/summer bags. Then I came around a corner � and I saw it. It�s such a cute style and a yummy color that I decided to overlook the whole �vinyl� thing. And it came stuffed full of goodies! And it was 40% off! Savings which I promptly spent on a new Nine and Company microfiber wallet (also 40% off!) and a darling Napier necklace and matching earrings (60% off!) that will complement the coral top I bought the other day.

My inner feminist dies in the spring--I turn into such a girly girl. My friend D tells me I �bloom� in the spring, like a flower. (I love a friend who will say something like that about you.)

Well, I�m glad I made the most of it today, because it is supposed to get cold, grey and rainy again overnight. But that�s Wisconsin for you.

Reading: "Espresso Tales", by Alexander McCall Smith. The second book in the 44 Scotland Street series.

Surfing: Pop Culture Junk Mail . Gael�s been doing it since 1999, and I�ve been reading it since 2001.

Listening: Arlo Guthrie, �The Best of Arlo Guthrie� I was STILL in the mood to drive around with the windows down and sing City Of New Orleans today. So I did.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com