rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















an implausibility of gnus
January 03, 2008

I'm really tired today, and it is the kind of tired where my mind wanders around entertains itself and hums strange songs to itself. So a desire to sing Flanders and Swann's "I'm a Gnu" led to a quick lookup of the lyrics, and then on to further online exploration of the term "gnu". Good time-killer, that.

New thing I learned: the collective noun for the gnu is an 'implausibility. An implausibility of gnus. I like that.

'I'm a Gnu, I'm a Gnu
The g-nicest work of g-nature in the zoo
I'm a Gnu, How do you do
You really ought to k-now w-ho's w-ho's
I'm a Gnu, Spelt G-N-U
I'm g-not a Camel or a Kangaroo
So let me introduce,
I'm g-neither man nor moose
Oh g-no g-no g-no...I'm a Gnu'



Reading: "Victorian Short Stories of Troubled Marriages". An interesting artifact found at Project Gutenberg.
Includes: "The Bronckhorst Divorce-Case", by Rudyard Kipling --"Irremediable", by Ella D'Arcy -- "A Poor Stick," by Arthur Morrison -- The "Adventure of the Abbey Grange", by Arthur Conan Doyle -- "The Prize Lodger", by George Gissing.

Listening: Today, it was mostly the incessant jabbering of the assholes who "work" (And I use the term very loosely) with me. This kind of thing jangles my nerves like nobody's business, so I'm enjoying some well-earned quiet time at the moment.

At Random: clickhere




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com