rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















oh the weather outside is frightful
December 02, 2007

Friday wasn�t too bad. I stayed a bit after work and decorated for the holidays; since I�m not having a tree at home this year, I brought my small, pre-lit tree to work and put it up. And I did some �desk-orating� as well, putting up some festive touches around my cube. This enables me to generate some goodwill with my bosses, who are kind of festivity Nazis at times. Then I went home and was just in time to kiss Spouse �bye, as he had to work a �cover shift� across first and second for some reason.

Once he was out of my hair, I printed up the address labels for the card exchange and made some special return address labels just for the occasion. And made myself slightly nuts in the process, since the Microsoft Works WP application seems to be seriously fucked up when it comes to printing Avery 5161 labels.

But after I ruined several sheets, I just had to use the imperfect ones anyway, because I ran out of labels, and because I wasn�t going to waste any more. So, all card exchange people�yeah, the candy canes are screwed up on the return address labels. Sorry! While I�m at it, I also apologize for not writing out the addresses by hand. But I wanted them to actually get delivered, so I thought I�d better make sure they were legible. My handwriting is so bad that it will be a miracle if anyone can read the writing inside the cards. I think I�m going to wait to mail them until the 7th, though, because I figure a lot of people will send them out right away, and I want to space it out a little.

SO. That�s done�although I still need to get cards made out to my regular list. I felt like it was a pretty good accomplishment for a Friday afternoon, since I don�t usually get anything done when I spend a Friday afternoon at home.


Oh, but WHAT a shitty weekend, weather-wise. Spouse and I were up and at �em early yesterday, making it all the way to the Harley dealer in New Berlin (to pick up a gift for my brother) by 9:00 am. Then we hit the Wal-Mart in NB, made a stop at Southridge mall, and cut down to Franklin to Sendik�s to get general groceries and some stuff for dinner. The snow was just starting when we went in, and when we came out about a half-hour later, it was already awful.

We loaded up the groceries and went over to the Melrose for lunch, which was probably a mistake. Once we started slip-sliding toward home, the freeway was a nightmare, the surface roads marginally better, and it took us 45 minutes to get to the Barnes and Noble in Racine (normally that would take 15-20). We popped in there for Nephew�s gift, and then headed back to K-Town�another 45 minute ride.

Once we got back to town, that was it for the shoppin�. We headed to the barn, put away the groceries, and I took a long nap. When I woke up? It was no longer snowing. It was sleeting.

Spouse had announced earlier that he would love some lasagna for dinner. Since we went to Sendik�s for groceries, I took advantage of their great meat counter and got ground veal, ground chuck, and bulk Italian sausage, and Spouse found some new noodles and marinara sauce to try (Pastene�s, from Massachusetts). SO after my nap, I whipped up a small pan of lasagna, a tossed salad and some garlic toast. Man, that combination of meats makes so much difference in the flavor! And the noodles and sauce were excellent, too. It was a really good batch, if I do say so myself. And once I�d cleaned up the kitchen, the sleet had stopped!

It was now raining.
Today was dedicated to the domesticities. Since the rain wasn�t sufficient to clear the snow, and only turned the world into a giant Slurpee, Spouse cleared the walks and thawed the cars. Then he ran over to the bakery and picked up some pastry for breakfast. I took the first steps in my day-long journey of laundry, and I gave my kitchen a pre-baking scrubdown. (I cannot bake in a kitchen that isn�t thoroughly cleaned and prepped.)

Once I�d gotten everything in motion in the laundry department and had my kitchen all ready, I hit the showers and got dressed, then Spouse and I ran to the drugstore for a few things (Hershey Kisses and M&Ms for baking), and grabbed some McD�s drive-through for lunch. Then it was home to begin in earnest. For me, anyway. After he peeled the Kisses for me, he was pretty much finished being productive for the day.

Me? Apparently, I was just hitting my stride. As I sit here now, I have the last of seven loads in the dryer�the rest are done and put away. I�ve baked cookies, I�ve made peanut brittle, I�ve cleaned up all the attendant messes, I�ve worked my way to the bottom of the mending basket, and I�ve even recapped my weekend here.

True, I scrubbed no toilets, vacuumed no floors, and dusted no bric-a-brac this weekend, but one cannot have everything. I hit the laundry, cooking, baking, and sewing elements of wifely drudgery, and that will simply have to do. Now I�m going to put my feet up and watch the documentary on Don Rickles that HBO is running.


Reading: �Upstairs, Downstairs, Volume I�, by John Hawkesworth. Found volumes I & II at the Library books sale--score! (I also found a very nice old copy of Hans Brinker, which is pretty neat!)

Listening: �Toys for Tots� Christmas CD, 2001.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com