rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















good intentions
26/30 November 24, 2007

Yesterday wasn�t the complete loss I thought it would be�After my entry was posted, I felt a sudden compulsion to run over to W&T�s place, bearing the leftover pumpkin cake with caramelized icing and the miniature pumpkin cheesecakes that P&E had sent home with us on Thursday. Must have been my Spidey sense tingling, because W was just wrapping up a good cry. They lost one of their family (their older Chihuahua) right before Halloween, and after a long and exhausting Black Friday (they�re in retail), she kind of had a little breakdown.

Pumpkin cheesecake to the rescue! We visited for a while, and T played with my new camera, but I didn�t stay long because I could see they were pooped. And they certainly hadn�t had the benefit of a three-hour nap, as I had!



I started out today with good intentions�I was washing the kitchen floor and dusting the ceiling fans and running the vacuum�but ended up going to Schaumburg with Spouse and P and E. E wanted to go to The Container Store, so we got cleaned up, met them out at I-94, and ran down there.

Meh. I wasn�t too impressed�thought it was overpriced. I did buy a cookie jar that matched my canister set, and some doohickeys for hanging up my broom and mop.

And a really cool spice rack that will, unfortunately, end up being a gift for E, because it�s too bloody big for my dinky cupboards.

See�the problem with having really shitty old 1970s kitchen cabinets is that you can�t even make them better.

I had thought we were also going to the mall, but everyone punked out on me. Hey, I was willing, in spite of my personal demons, to go to Woodfield on Thanksgiving weekend. But they all wussed out, and we just went to lunch instead. They had never been to a Bahama Breeze, so we took them there and they were very happy with it. I was worried that our �Fla-ribbeans� (and anti-chain foodies), wouldn�t like it, but everything was very good. Food, service, and price were all within acceptable ranges for them.

I started with a Mai-Tai, and had wood-fire grilled salmon with garlic & herb butter, rice and beans, and grilled haricots verts. And it was killer. Spouse had his usual West-Indies ribs with the guava barbeque sauce, and P&E split several appetizers. 2 desserts for the four of us, to follow. The boys split key-lime pie, and the girls had something called Bananas Supreme, with ice cream and bananas over warm banana bread, drizzled with butterscotch sauce and sprinkled with toasted almonds. Wow.
After lunch we just headed back for Wisconsin, and once we got dropped off, Spouse and I gassed up the car, ran to Walgreen�s, and headed home. It was far too late to get my cleaning groove back on, so I baked instead. The first batch of sugar cookies, so they won�t last anywhere near long enough to get close to Christmas. Spouse is sickening for a cold, so he�s crashed in the bed, and I�m getting ready to settle in under my quilt and watch �White Christmas�.


Reading: �Alfred Hitchcock�s Mystery Magazine�, the January/February 2008 double issue.

Listening: �40 Years: A Charlie Brown Christmas�. I bought myself a box set containing �A Charlie Brown Christmas�, �40 Years: A Charlie Brown Christmas�, and "Charlie Brown's Holiday Hits" (that last one has stuff from various other Peanuts holiday specials)

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com