rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















RIP, Ira Levin
21/30 November 19, 2007

"The Swiss watchmaker of suspense novels, he makes what the rest of us do look like cheap watchmakers in drugstores."
--Stephen King, on Ira Levin

I just found out Ira Levin died on November 12th. The man wasn�t a big producer in his 44-year career�but damn, what he produced. The Novels:

  • A Kiss Before Dying
  • Rosemary's Baby
  • This Perfect Day
  • The Stepford Wives
  • The Boys from Brazil
  • Sliver
  • Son of Rosemary
The Plays
  • No Time For Sergeants
  • Interlock
  • Critic's Choice
  • General Seeger
  • Dr. Cook's Garden
  • Veronica's Room
  • Deathtrap
  • Break a Leg: A Comedy in Two Acts
  • Cantorial
  • Drat! The Cat! (book and lyrics)


I was a voracious and very advanced reader, so I had read �Rosemary�s Baby�, �The Stepford Wives�, and �The Boys From Brazil� before the age of 14. But all the scary enjoyment those books offered a kid of that age is nothing compared to the subtle and complex interweaving of plot, pace, prose, and suspense I discovered when I re-read them as an adult.

I can�t leave out his theater work though. As an avid theater buff since my childhhood, I�ve always kept an unnofficial running list of favorite plays. Subject to periodic re-edits, with plays added and deleted (and sometimes re-added), but with a core group of plays that just stick, year in and year out. They stick because I never tire of them, and could see them or read them unlimited times. They consistently entertain.

Two of those plays are �No Time For Sergeants� and �Deathtrap�.

Thank you, Mr. Levin




Reading: �Blind Side�, by Catherine Coulter. But I need to stop at the library for some Levin.

Beading: I�m still thinking!

Listening: Dean Martin, �Season�s Greetings�.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com