rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















white lab-created sapphires are a girl�s best friends?
18/30 November 16, 2007

Got the Shaw�s Jewelers Christmas Special flyer�they have this year�s �official� diamond pendant design (a gentle s-curve of 6 graduated stones) in white lab-created sapphires and 10K white gold, and it�s on sale for $29.99 this weekend. I folded the page to show the piece and put it on top of his keys. Fingers crossed. (since he's been stubbornly deaf to my requests for a nice digital camera, I figure I'll appeal to his skin-flintyness with an under $50 gift)

Perfect for me�attractive, inexpensive, and a political statement. Blood-free pretty-pretties are preferred to real diamonds.

Although I�ll have to spring for a white gold chain that�s long enough for my big fat neck.


I need a new Christmas CD. In years where the holiday holds next to nothing for me, the music is the only thing I treasure. So I buy myself a new Christmas CD every year, and have amassed a nice collection. I feel the need for something rich and orchestral, but with vocals. Tony Bennett maybe? I don�t have one from him�
Off-topic (Topic? There�s a topic?): Does anyone still call these �corn curls�? Wikipedia cites it, so it must be bona-fide, and not just some quirky term my family came up with.

So is it a regional thing, or a generational one? My mom mentioned corn curls in passing the other day, and it took me a moment to figure out what she meant, despite being raised with that term. I honestly hadn�t heard it in decades.

At my house, they are called by their South Park name�Cheesy Poofs.

These are the great questions I ponder, instead of actually working.
Oh, can I please just kill the superannuated fanboy in the cubicle next door? He is a Star-Geek cubed (-Wars, -Trek, -Gate), plus a major Doris Day fan. Vocal about all of it. He�s also a cheap-ass who never brings candy, but eats all of ours.

And he�s the infamous "� hour to smack the food around in his maw, � hour to suck the food out of his teeth, � hour of farting after eating the foul, cheap-ass dog food he calls lunch" guy.

Other charming traits he possesses include, but are not limited to:
NO indoor voice
he�s a latent prissy old woman


Reading: �The Rottweiler�, by Ruth Rendell. Yeah, still. I�m only up to page 209 (out of 339). Pathetic!

Beading: Since my team at work is women only, I can safely plan on doing a DNA spiral necklace for a Christmas gift no matter whose name I get. I haven�t made my final decision on bead color(s)�I�m trying to determine what I have a sufficient supply of to do an 18-inch run.

Listening: �Porgy and Bess�, from the 1959 film.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com