rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















2 hours and 22 minutes is pretty short for one of our calls, actually
13/30 November 12, 2007

11/12/07 post
Well, although I did get some of my �to do� list done yesterday, I wasn�t entirely successful.
The unaccomplished list:
--card shopping (although I can scratch it off now, since I found what I wanted on the way home today.)
--clothes shopping
--shoe shopping
--changing out purse, spring/summer for winter (tonight! I vow!)


I did manage to get the Christmas shopping initiated; Spouse indicated that he wanted the fancy commemorative ticket to the Harley-Davidson 105th Anniversary Celebration next August, so I ordered it. Since they won�t even be sent out until next spring, I also bought a coffee-table book featuring tons of bike photos, so he has a surprise/something to unwrap.


After talking to Nephew on Saturday, I had a brainwave for a gift idea Nephew & his mom�they both have large library fines, and if the KPL will let me, I�m thinking of paying them down so they can use their library cards again, instead of borrowing his step-dad�s every time they want to check something out. It seems like a thoughtful and unique gift�I hope the library goes for it.


If they do, I�ll make up some nice certificates for them to open on Christmas.



Mr. B must have the constitution of an ox�the repercussions following the great cake raid were minor and mild. He was a little hyper for a while, and needed frequent �walkies� all weekend, but it didn�t really seem to bother him at all. He was his usual insane self.


I called my mom & dad on Saturday night, and we talked for 2 hours and 22 minutes. We laughed, we cried, we had a good old heart-to heart, and we discussed the difficulty of the coming season.


She caught me up on family doings. One of my brothers got a promotion, my niece got her own place, and my oldest brother�s FIL is really sick and not doing well at all. The estate sale of my late brother�s stuff was held last week, and it went pretty well. They didn�t make a fortune, but they came out enough ahead to pay off some of the debt, and more importantly�they have all that stuff off their hands. They were renting a storage space for it, so at least they won�t have that outlay anymore.


I just bought myself a copy of �The Year of Magical Thinking�, by Joan Didion, because I got tired of defending myself to vociferous friends who really couldn�t understand why I hadn�t read it already. Once I get done with it, I�ll pass it on to my mom. Plus I think it�s that time of year again�I like to send my mom a nice present once in a while to perk her up. I have my eye on a little nativity sculpture she�d just love.


I have to send the Niece a little something as a housewarming, too. Your first place is a pretty big deal.


Not to mention the first time you move in with a guy, said Auntie wryly. That part I�m not crazy about, but hell. He�s a nice guy and my 20-year-old self can�t point any fingers�I was 19 when I got engaged, and 21 when I got married. And that was my second engagement.


And I love my niece.


Tea Love: Hyson�s Black Currant tea, brewed, 2 lumps, then iced. Yum. Raspberry isn�t my favorite anymore. The black currant is also great hot, unlike raspberry, which I prefer chilled.


Mr. B�s got several nicknames, as all our dogs seem to. Spouse laughs at me, because my favorite nickname for the dog is from a movie Spouse loves. Ever see the John Frankenheimer movie The Train?


Mr. B�s sneakiness and destructive habits have earned him the nickname �LaBiche�.


Too many trips up and down the stairs on laundry duty yesterday. Good thing my regularly scheduled chiro appointment was for today. My hip and low back were torturing me all day. Doc got everything popped back into place, though, and I�m feeling pretty good now.


Ye Gods. My husband is growing a beard. No, I don�t know why. Well, yeah, he says it is for the big Harley thing next year, but I suspect it is to bug the fuck out of me. Fortunately, it�ll make him crazy before much longer, and he�ll shave that disgusting grizzled prospector crap off to stop the itching. Can�t happen soon enough for me. Bearded Spouse�ugh!





Reading: �The Rottweiler�, by Ruth Rendell.

Beading: Black and silver beaded dangle earrings.

Listening:Peter Gallagher and Patti Lupone, from "Annie Get Your Gun".

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com