rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















National Brotherhood Week National Blog Posting Month
1/30 November 05, 2007

I�m back.

And I�m counting on NaBloPoMo to provide me with the pressure I need to get back into the swing of things.

Since it is already the 5th of the month, I won�t be able to adhere to the �post every day in the month� tenet, but I can still go for the �30 posts in 30 days� spirit of it. And I will try to blog a little about each day, whether or not it gets posted right away or not.

So starting last Thursday, 11/01/07�
I recently changed my work hours, and have been starting at 6:30 in the morning and leaving at 3:30 in the afternoon.

At 3:20 on Thursday, my boss hands me a project that would have a normal course of approximately 3 weeks, and tells me it needs to go in with some other stuff.

Stuff that was going in to testing on Friday.

So that happened to me on the first. Do I even need to say what I was doing on the second?
Yeah, I do.
I pulled it off. I got a 3-week project from inception to turnover in less than four hours.

The downside, of course, is that now the expected project time for that type of thing will BE four hours.

Have I mentioned lately that I really can�t stand my boss? Mainly because there isn�t a soul in this company she can say �no� to, except me.

Other choice tidbits from last week include the news of the latest incredible fucking mess that will directly impact my daily commute. And that�s in addition to the three other construction projects that are already fucking up my commute. It looks to be a 13-19 month Hell.

And as for the third day of the month--Highlights include:


  • My gigantor meltdown and grand-mal hissy aimed at that fat lazy sack of crap I�m married to Spouse, because he won�t lift a finger around the house.
  • Scrubbing, scouring, laundering, washing, vacuuming, dusting, etc. Because he invites people over, then counts on my having a sense of shame over the squalor, and cleaning the house.
  • Dinner at Dino�s with P&E, which was very enjoyable, despite lingering tensions between Spouse and myself.
  • A concert attended with E and her friend T; Bradford�s Theatre Arts program did the concert version of Sweeney Todd, and no way would I miss that.

Sunday was a decent day; he took me out to the Diner for breakfast, which was lovely, despite all the Food-Network-come-latelys cluttering up the place and not understanding The Rules.

Then we did a little shopping, and came home. I�d already done a more than sufficient amount of housework for the weekend, so I killed the day playing with Mr. B, making a batch of cashew brittle, cooking a pot roast, turning out my bead box, and reading. Oh�and changing the clocks.

Today has been just a normal day at work. Meaning the daily ordeal of sitting one cardboard wall away from the biggest slob in the known universe, smelling the Garbage Flamb� he eats for lunch, listening to him spend half an hour slurping, another half-hour burping, then moving on to teeth-sucking, and finishing up with farting.

And trying to get a modicum of work done despite the constant, overwhelming nausea.

Maybe I�ll have my appetite back by dinner time; I was planning on having the leftover pot roast.







Reading: halfway through a comforting re-read of my favorite Louisa May Alcott books. I just finished �Eight Cousins�, and am starting the sequel, �Rose in Bloom�.


Listening: Lately, I�ve been queueing up a bunch of Youtube selections and playing them in the background while I futz around on the computer. Recent themes include Robert Goulet, Porter Wagoner, Tom Lehrer and �The Electric Company�. For various reasons.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com