rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















tradition accomplished
November 13, 2006

Spouse and I did the annual Thanksgiving shop this weekend. With things being so tight, we were only able to do around 25-30 people this year. It didn�t have its usual uplifting effect, though. It felt more like an obligation that a joy, unfortunately.

Most things do, these days.



Raji injured herself a couple of weeks ago, and it�s still up in the air as to whether or not surgery will be required. She may or may not have torn her ACL. So far, she�s been bouncing back wonderfully on anti-inflammatories and a joint supplement, but she�s getting an x-ray on Friday. Meanwhile, she has been forbidden access to her favorite place in the world�the big bed. It is far too tall for her to be jumping in and out, and boy, is she pissed about it. That�s where HER window is, and she�s quite put out over our thwarting her plans.

Of course, we went and spent a hard-earned $40.00 on pet steps, so she could ascend to her throne without damaging herself�

But she refuses to have anything to do with them. So I�m in that unenviable position of trying to teach an old dog a new trick.

It�s gonna take a while, I think. I�ve managed to get her up the damn things a couple of times, but I don�t know how I�m going to get her to go down them. And down is even more important than up, in relation to potential knee damage.

Well, nothing to do but keep plugging away, I guess.



I have to go clothes shopping and get my hair done this weekend. Spouse and I have been invited to a family gathering the Saturday after Thanksgiving, and it looks to be a rather chi-chi cocktail party.

It�s a reception for Spouse�s cousin who recently wed. I really want to go, because this is my favorite bunch of his relatives.

But I dread trying to find something decent to wear. For one thing, I can�t afford it, and for another, shopping is my nightmare. Especially as I HATE what�s in style these days. I can�t pull off the clingy-curvy look�it just comes out droopy-lumpy on me. And overly fitted tailoring makes me feel as though the clothes are clutching at me.

I like skimming styles�and there just isn�t anything like that out there right now.




Reading: �The Honk and Holler Opening Soon� by Billie Letts (author of "Where the Heart Is"). After reading her �Shoot the Moon�, I was looking for more, and lucked out at the used bookstore.

Listening: NPR and some WDRV.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com