rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the day after
November 08, 2006

Wednesday, 11/08/06
I�ve had a fairly low opinion of Wisconsin since moving here in 1979. This state has never done anything much to change my mind, and they certainly didn�t start last night.

�Shall section 13 of article XIII of the constitution be created to provide that only a marriage between one man and one woman shall be valid or recognized as a marriage in this state and that a legal status identical or substantially similar to that of marriage for unmarried individuals shall not be valid or recognized in this state?"

The citizens of this state voted 59% to 41% to write discrimination INTO the state constitution.

The advisory referendum says it�s definitely OK to kill prisoners, though.

I feel sick.



The Dems in control of the House, the possibility of them controlling the Senate, and even Joe Lieberman�s little old Indie victory were good news this morning.

So, too, are the decisive referendum results in South Dakota a relief, albeit a temporary one. The enemy will not stop until they own every uterus, so this victory cannot be taken to mean that the fight is over.



Speaking of feeling sick�after watching �Hacking Democracy� on HBO last night, I ended up sleeping for shit. Talk about scary. As an American, as a voter who had her ballot sucked into an optical scanner yesterday, and HELL�As a friggin� software tester--I was seriously freaked. At the part where Harri Hursti hacked the test election at the ballot box level, and rigged the election, I felt such a chill. And I wept a little in sympathy with that one election official who broke down and cried on camera.


Still, as Nephew would say, �this might just turn out to be a good day�. Sayonara, Rummy! Although the realist in me knows that there will be little benefit, with Gates in charge. Man, that Bush bunch will pick the spook every time, won�t they? Bunch of CIA hacks.

But I�m allowing myself just a bit of gloating, just the same.

And I had a very satisfying conversation with Exboss today--we don't get that much opportunity anymore, but we are both political junkies, so we had to get together to compare and contrast. As he put it, "This is my Superbowl". He is a little over the central line to the right, and I to the left, but we have always been able to have delightful political discussions. In fact, most everyone I enjoy talking politics with is just right of center. Just enough difference to spice up the chatter.

I know I seem pretty extreme myself, what with being pro-choice and pro-civil rights for gays and all, but I believe my fiscal conservatism balances that.

And after all--I'm voting my values. Protecting the rights of my loved ones and staying true to my beliefs. Just as so many on the right claim to do.




Reading: �Road Rage�, �Simisola� by Ruth Rendell.

Beading: Truly, I think my passion is spent. I just cannot seem to get into the groove with beading anymore.

Listening: The usual for election season--National Public Radio.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com