rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















some choice bits of my marvelously exciting life, since my last entry
October 19, 2006

Due to the city doing some work on the water mains in my neighborhood, the water was turned off for several hours on Tuesday. Spouse, who is back to working second shift, was a bit put out, since they did it during the day.
But no skin off my nose personally, right?

Well. Not quite--the pressure burst when they turned it back on resulted in the toilet fill line going haywire, the first time it was flushed. Unfortunately, I didn't realize it until Wednesday morning, when there was a huge puddle on the bathroom floor.

And the sediment that got knocked loose inside the pipes has now worked it's way into the aerator on the bathroom sink, so that will have to be dismantled and cleaned out. Otherwise, washing your hands = taking a shower.



One more tenuous connection to the outside world has been taken from me by the filters and snoops at work. Not only have they cranked the filters to the point where you pretty much can't look at a any website that even has a photo on it...I got my ass chewed out for too much internet usage on company time.

So I am limited to a few minutes here and there, and checking my email. I guess I was enjoying my job a little too much, or something. I've got to watch that. I should know by now that any moderate level of satisfaction in any area of life is met with swift and inexorable retribution.

And for good measure, I got another ton piled onto the workload--just to keep me busy.



I've been cranky from pain all week anyway, so nothing so far has been much fun to handle.

My right foot is getting to the point where I can scarcely put any weight on it. I don't know what's causing it, but I have a suspicion it is a combination of a bone spur and an arthritic ankle. Neither of which have an easy answer, so I guess I just learn to hop on one leg.

In other health news, I have been attempting to find a solution to the cuckoobrain. But why is it that every solution seems to take more energy than I have, and require the kind of �write it all down, prioritize it all, check it all off� thinking and action that is the very definition of soul-killing?

I don't want a solution that puts more nit-picky, bureaucratic responsibility on me.

I just want life to leave me alone.



My moochy Spouse wants to go to a hobby show on Saturday, and that just pisses me off no end. First off, we already have thousands of dollars worth of model train shit in the basement, just rotting away to rust and dust. He never touches it. Second, if he can't be bothered with his own friggin' hobby, why should I be required to give a shit? There will be nothing there that interests me in the slightest. Finally? I believe I just mentioned that I'm suffering excruciating foot pain that makes it nearly impossible for me to walk.

And you know I'm gonna get stuck going.



All the fucky-headedness this week is just bleah. It makes me so damn scatty and forgetful. I think of stuff and five seconds later I've forgotten it again. I had to pin a note to my messenger bag so I could finally remember to pick up dog food today, and I even forgot to watch Dead Like Me on Tuesday. (Now that's getting bad.)

Doppelganger, at 50 Books, linked to a list of "1001 books you must read before you die".
She is a voracious reader, and a bookblogger, and is only hitting around 200 read. As for me? I came in at 96--plus another 30 or so that were attempted but never finished, and one of the books I counted as read is only half-read, anyway. I am not doubting I'll finish it, because I really like it. But it's my current book, so I figured I'd count it. And in an effort to be really honest, there were a few on the list that I know I finished, but only for classes, and I don't remember a freaking thing about them--so I didn't count them.

And thank goodness the author of the list had the sense to include some D.L.Sayers, Dashiell Hammett, Conan-Doyle, and even an Agatha Christie on the list, or I wouldn't have done that well.




Reading: �A Home at the End of the World�, by Michael Cunningham.

Beading: Fuck it. If she's gonna chew me out re: the 'net, then she can go piss up a rope for handmade beady goodness.

Listening: Vinyl, baby! WDRV's doing album sides today. CCR, Cocker, The Beatles, Frampton... snap, crackle, pop--I love it.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com