rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















anyone want some breakfast
October 02, 2006

Spouse and I got up at our standard Sunday time yesterday�which is a half-hour past our weekday time. Try and tell the dog �we�re sleeping in�.

I fed, watered, and walked the dog, made coffee, and sat back while Spouse made breakfast. We had bacon, eggs, and toast, and discussed what we were going to do for the day. We had lots of ideas, none of which involved setting foot off the property.

Well. While I was cleaning up the kitchen, the phone rang. My dad, wanting to meet us somewhere between our house and theirs�for brunch.

Oof. Shouldn�t have had that second helping of bacon and toast, then.

So the plans went out the window, and I went into the shower, to get ready to go meet the parents. Nothing special�just missed us and wanted to get together. And actually, having last seen my parents eleven months ago, I was tickled to go. Spouse chose a place in Hebron, Illinois that had been mentioned in his club newsletter; an old-fashioned small town restaurant with a lot of charm, great food, and a $13 brunch buffet. None of us had ever been there, but Spouse did a great job of shooting in the dark.

The food was marvelous. Clean, fresh, high-quality, wide variety, and goddammed fabulous from salads to desserts. Oh, my�Daddy was very pleased.



News on the home front was mixed; on the one hand, one of my few remaining and greatly beloved great-aunties passed away. But on the other hand, my dad�s infamous horrible bookkeeper he could never seem to get the balls to fire, up and quit. My dad can be such a wimp when it comes to canning people, and this woman took horrendous advantage of him for a zillion years. But at least he finally got up the nerve to make her punch a time clock�she got so pissed she quit! Hell, yes. Her salary probably got cut in half, once he started to pay her only for the time she actually worked!

He�s a little nervous about doing without a bookkeeper, but between his personal accountant, his good friend at the license bureau, who are helping him learn it, and his computer, I think he�s going to be amazed at how easy he picks it all up. He needs to have more faith in himself. I know he can do this stuff�he never stops amazing me with how he stays on top of technology. Daddy is where I get my geek genes, I think.

Mom looks great�a bit slimmer, and very well put together. New hairdo, new glasses, and seems pretty happy. She was groovin� yesterday, because Dad actually told her she looked fantastic when they were getting ready to go. She did, of course, but we were all shocked that Dad managed to notice, and to comment.

She�s walking pretty well, too. She needs to get her other knee done, and she has a cataract they are watching closely, but otherwise she seems to be doing well. And dad was telling me how much better he�s been feeling, after getting his cataracts removed and his prostate attended to. Gee, Dad, thanks! I really wanted to hear about that!

Seriously, though, I�m glad he did get it fixed, for his sake, and for Mom�s. The lack of sleep from having to get up over and over again to go pee was taking a hell of a toll on them both. He was miserable, so he was acting very cruel and hateful to her. Now they seem to be getting along much better.

Yesterday was a great day to see them, because it was warm and clear and dry, which meant that Dad was hearing well, and mom was moving well�and hey! No fights!

The nice thing about my family is that we only take each other in small doses, so we had a great time over brunch, chatting and catching each other up on stuff. And one-and-a-half hours later, we kiss goodbye and go our separate ways.



After brunch, Spouse and I came home to salvage out to do list a bit. He worked on his bike, and cleaned the gutters. I emptied and washed some flowerpots, and did several loads of laundry.

We were both agreed that Sunday dinner was out of the question, after that big breakfast and HUGE brunch. So we just grazed a bit, he�s going to bake the ham today, when he gets home from work this afternoon.



I was going buggy for something to read Saturday night, so Spouse and I ran to Racine to the bookstore. (It is fucking ridiculous that a town the size of ours can�t support a bookstore, but that�s a rant for another time.) I lucked out a bit, as they were having a purple dot sale (3/$9.99) and I found three dotted books I wanted to read. Plus, I picked up a Ruth Rendell �Wexford� title I haven�t read(�The Babes in the Wood�). Spouse got some magazines, And my three other titles were �American Crimes�, edited by Martin Greenberg, �All Families Are Psychotic�, by Douglas Coupland, and a paperback I can�t remember the name, author, or plot outline of�although it seemed interesting at the time! Oh, well�memory lapse. I�m sure I�ll enjoy reading it.


Maybe the barometer dropped or something, but I�m feeling oh, so tired and cranky all of a sudden. I had some other stuff I was going to write about, but not now.



Reading: �American Crimes�, edited by Martin Greenberg. Anthology of mystery short stories�A showcase of the vast variety of American short mystery fiction.

Beading: Some wrapped loop technique practice. I suck at this, but I�m determined to get better.

Listening: I find myself really getting annoyed with noises lately, and even in the car, the stereo seems more obtrusive and infuriating than I can bear. So�nothing. In fact, I�m wearing earplugs as I type this.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com