rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















is it cake yet?
September 30, 2006

Just for the hell of it, I decided to make a devil's food Bundt cake this afternoon. Spouse is baking a ham tomorrow, so I figured I'd have it all made for Sunday dinner dessert.

It may not last that long. It wasn't even cool yet, and he was looking over my shoulder asking "Is it cake yet?" So Sunday dinner's cake has a big wedge missing already.

The cake was plan B, anyway. We went to Meijer this morning on a foodie run, and once we got everything put away and I'd packaged up the meat in individual, one meal portions, I figured we'd have a quick lunch and go work in the yard. Well, the sudden thunderstorm that sprang up while we were grilling the bratwursts put paid to that idea.

The storm lasted just long enough to throw a monkey wrench. It's gorgeous outside now, naturally, but completely muddy. I'd planned to clear out the annuals, wash my pots up and get them stored for next year, and arrange the potted chrysanthemums out front.

So Spouse napped, and I baked and puttered on the computer.


I have cakes on the brain, I guess. I've another one planned for next week; the birthday cake this year is going to be an old-fashioned Orange Chiffon, from scratch. It's always been a favorite of mine--Aunt Nellie's was pure heaven.

And when Spouse saw one on the cover of a magazine the other day, it got him wanting one as well. So I figured our birthday was special enough to warrant a real, homemade chiffon cake. They are a lot of work, but it can be fun.

That's the extent of plans I have for my birthday. Spouse is celebrating his by going out on a 125-mile ride with the local HOG chapter, and Niece is going along with him. So I get peace and quiet for my birthday, I guess.

Along with a week's vacation. I'm taking the week off to burn vacation days and breed some peace of mind. I may run out and see my folks. I miss them a lot, and I'd love to see them. Also, it would give me a chance to stop in Rockford to pick up some Mrs. Fisher's chips for Spouse. That would make him happy for his birthday!
I have been trying to get some new pieces into the wardrobe lately. I sincerely hate clothes shopping, and I am pretty happy that I've found three pair of dress pants, a pair of jeans, and a couple of shirts in the last couple of weeks, without too much pain.

I really need some more tops to take me into fall/winter, though, so I'm not out of the woods yet. And I still have to find some shoes that are stylish enough for the office, yet sensible enough to keep my feet comfy. Most of the pairs I have now are torture devices. They are out there, if you can afford them, but I can't. So I have to play the seach game, looking for shoes that split the difference between comfort and price.


Reading: Since it has been Banned Book Week--a banned book, naturally! �Brave New World�, by Aldous Huxley.

Beading: A quickie-- strung necklace of number #6 seeds and assorted small glass beads, collar length, in browns, ambers and golds. Specific to go with a new top I bought.

Listening: CD. Soundtrack to the movie �Still Breathing�.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com