rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















make it stop. please make it stop.
September 13, 2006

The rain, it raineth every day.
And yesterday was a real pip. Long, torrential downpours, low visibility and standing water on the road, flash floods, a basement full of water, a husband who came home from work covered in sump slime. Ugh.

My pool has been overflowing, I haven't seen the sun since last Friday, and I swear, the endless damp has me mildewing behind the ears. If it wasn't for the fact that I've had it up to here with moisture--I'd cry.

Add to that the effects of SAD, and the physical pain that I have in damp weather--yeah. I'm feeling a leetle low right now.



Ever get the feeling that someone is trying to tell you something? I currently have one show per week that I watch. All I ask is two hours, from 6:00 to 8:00 on Tuesday nights, where I can sit down and watch the "Dead Like Me" episodes on Sci Fi. I got home at about 5:30 yesterday, and despite the storms, Sci Fi was coming in just fine on the satellite. That is, until my show actually came on. In despair, I shouted PLEASE! Can I just have one fucking thing today! Whereupon the signal locked briefly, and Jasmine Guy appeared on the screen, holding a gun, speaking one line of dialogue before the reception went out again. The line was "No, and don't ask again!"

Ooookay, then. At least the signal cleared up within the first fifteen minutes, and I was able to watch my show in relative peace.



The peace didn't last, though. Spouse walked about twenty minutes after the show ended, dripping and stinking from the disgusting job he had to do at work. Once the power went out, someone had to wade through the sump so the pump could be hooked up to the generator. Guess who got elected?

I ended up soaking his work shoes in Lysol solution and throwing his dirty clothes into the machine with a good dose of washing soda. Then we had to go get a new pair of insoles for his shoes, because the old ones were just ruined.



The dog isn't loving this weather, either. Poor pooch can't catch a break lately. First her bump went wacky and got infected, then she had surgery, then stitches, then a hideous stretch of diarrhea that required 2 large pills poked down her throat three times a day, then stitch removal, and now horrible thunderstorms to stress her out. Poor baby. At least her fur is growing back in pretty well.


Spouse stopped at the pool store on the way to work yesterday and picked up the waste hose and filter fitting for draining the pool, so he was able to bring the water level down this morning, without flooding the yard. He isn't planning to drain it all the way down yet; we live in hope that we may swim again before the season ends. But at least it is down where it's supposed to be--halfway up the skimmer.


I have sad new to report. My nails are no longer fabulous, as I had a hideous day at work, and repeatedly bit away at them until they were all short and raggedy again. Thanks to some concentrated effort with the file, they are now merely all short. And since they are short, I'll probably stop polishing them again.


Reading: "Alfred Hitchcock's Tales That Scared Even Me"

Beading: Nothing. This weather is making me hurt too much to bead.

Listening: WXRT FM, Chicago. Elvis Costello, Paul Simon, The Killers.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com