rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















what a day
July 20, 2006

The pool dealer is making it good, vis � vis the ladder situation. Spouse sent them an email about it, and the owner replied to tell us they would replace the faulty ladder. That was good news I was ready for, after the hellish afternoon I had.

I had to leave work early and drive back to town so I could clean up a careless mess Spouse created. He screwed up the insurance payment this month, and the insurance agency screwed up on notifying us.

The payoff from those two errors was me getting a phone call at work, at 12:50pm, telling me that the insurance company wanted $135 by 4:30pm, or our insurance would be cancelled at midnight.

After various attempts to do check-by-phone, I ended up having to go to the bank, withdraw the sum in cash, drive it over to the agency, and hand it to the agent. At that point I was running out of time, and wanted it settled quickly and absolutely.

I had many choice words for Spouse when he got home, and he could see the whole thing had frazzled me badly. He ordered Chinese for dinner, to make amends. Not much, but something, I guess.

One nice thing about leaving early was I got to go to the library, once I had all the financial stuff settled. And by some miracle, I was able to get season three of UpDown, AND the latest Ruth Rendell, AND the latest P.D.James. I found some other good reads, as well. I had to drive to the library branch all the way across town to do it, but I got them. I managed to watch the two "Titanic" episodes at the beginning of season three before Spouse got home, and a third episode after he went to bed.

Strange, but situations like the one with the insurance check can shred me. Fortunately, a good, solid evening of Anglophilia can paste me back together quite well.




Reading: "How to Cook Your Daughter", by Jessica Hendra. Her memoir of sexual abuse at the hands of her father, the twisted humorist Tony Hendra.

Listening: XM, "Hank's Willie's Place" (They roped in Willie Nelson, and changed the name). Conway Twitty, Marty Robbins, and Ray Price. Soothing emotional comfort food from my childhood.

Beading Watching: Season Three of "Upstairs, Downstairs".

One Year Ago, I was back at work.


At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com