rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















concerns
June 19, 2006

Sometimes, I really wish I could still believe in a god, and the power of prayer.

With Papa in the hospital, trying to die, and Nephew in the hospital, trying not to, I'm feeling dreadfully powerless at the moment.

Papa seems to be declining at an alarming rate. He has fallen down several times in the last few days, and even needed stitches on Saturday when he hit his head on the desk. So a family decision was made to take his truck away, and his boss let him go at work.

Now he won't eat, or take care of himself, and I think he's just plain giving up. I think he wants to die. Spouse called a little while ago to let me know P&E took just checked him into the hospital. I hope I'm wrong, and they can figure out something concrete about why he's like this.

But that isn't all the bad news. Like a one-two punch, Spouse followed that up with the bombshell about Nephew being in the hospital. He had another one of his "episodes", with the blood pressure and chest pains. I wish to heck they could figure this out, and get him some treatment. I would feel a little better if his mom would take him to Children's Hospital, in Milwaukee. The sleepy little town where they go to the hospital just seems a little...inadequate.



It doesn't help that I talked to my mom this weekend, and found out she had one of her episodes last week, blacking out and falling in her driveway. And messing up her artificial knee, in the process. So things aren't all that much better with my parents.

And to top it off, Spouse and I have both been dreadfully sick with a respiratory infection that simply won't go away. I have been fighting this thing for nearly a week, and I still feel horrible. In fact, I packed it in at noon today and came home from work, because I couldn't stop coughing and my head feels like it's going to explode.

I was trying to nap when Spouse called.

So much for being able to rest.




Reading: "The Best of Sisters in Crime", edited by Marilyn Wallace.


Listening: CD, The soundtrack of "On a Clear Day, You Can See Forever". Barbra Streisand and Yves Montand.

Beading: not at present.

One Year Ago, I was too busy to post.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com