rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I do believe in swimming pools! I do! I do!
May 26, 2006

I'm starting to actually believe in the pool

Today, when I came home from work, there was a swimming pool "kit" in my back yard.

Whee! Squee, even!

Now I'm just waiting for the installer to come and put it up.



I had a fairly quiet morning at work today. Which is kind of unusual in this new position, but my boss was out of town. So I didn't exactly kill myself.

I took care of a lot of tedious shit, tried not to speak to anyone for five hours, and came home.

It could have been perfect. Unfortunately, the person who has turned out to be the difficult member of my new team had to stir the shit and try to ruin everyone's weekend. She picked the most vulnerable member of the team, and sent her a cryptic, vague, passive aggressive email that no one can figure out, but that unsettles just about everyone. She did this after she started her vacation, naturally. It would never do for people to get shit like this resolved promptly. She'd rather have them stew for a few days.

I freely admit I'm spoiled. Although it hasn't been perfect (Worthless Co-worker, Miss Sensitive, etc.), the greatest percentage of co-workers around here are people I can deal with. I have had some pretty great bosses here, too. I just came from a team that was tight forthright and friendly and worked as a cohesive unit. There was just the two of us, but dammit, we clicked.

Given that, and throwing my own personality into the mix, I have to confess--I simply do not have the tools or the patience to deal with P/A, back-stabbing, mud-slinging agitators.

The woman in question is two years younger than me and looks like she's about 8 years older. Bitter does that to you, I guess. I'd pretty much written her bizarre and unpredictable behavior off as menopause/hormones, until I found out she's actually younger than me.

Well, she may have upset our younger co-worker, but if she was trying to ruin MY weekend, it's TDB for her. As soon as I finish this paragraph, I have no intention of thinking of that place again until Tuesday. A payday and a 3-day?

I'm in a great mood.



Spouse, however, was grumpy. He had to get up early for the pool delivery. I was kind of glad when he left for work. Maybe I'll stay up and make dinner for him tonight. That always makes him feel cared for.


I have to run over to W's later to take her some books and DVDs and to pick up my PampChef order. I love getting my stuff after placing an order. I tend to forget what I bought, so it's kind of like getting a present.

I already ran to the bank, and the store for some stuff, and stop for gas. So now I can put on my shorts, kick back, and commence my enjoyment of the weekend.




Reading: �The Ringer", by Dell Shannon.


Listening: XM On Broadway. "I'm Just A Girl Who Can't Say No" (from Oklahoma!), "My Eyes Adored You"(from Jersey Boys), and "You Gotta Have Heart"(from Damn Yankees!).


Beading: Planning out another badge lanyard.


One Year Ago, I was binge-y.

At Random: click here


|


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com