rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















rise and...shine? that can't be right.
March 23, 2006, 3:47 P.M.

Well--an entire seven hours of sleep can do wonders. I feel hugely better today, even though I still woke up at 3:30 and couldn't get back to sleep (what else is new). My secret? Pass out at 8:30 the night before.

Another contributing factor* is this: I may have to wake up at 3:30, but I do not have to lay there and wallow in misery, a prisoner of my racing mind.

I did the usual ultimatum. At 3:45, I told myself that if I was still awake at 4:00, I would get up, put on my workout sweats, sort a load of wash, and head for the basement.

And since my busy buzzing brain didn't want to believe me, I had to follow through on the threat.

End result? I did a brisk thirty minute workout, worked up a righteous sweat, and got a large load of lights through the wash and into the dryer.

Then I walked the dog. Get me pumped, and lookout world.

*Also? give yourself a three-day weekend by burning some of that bogus bonus (extra personal time) they gave you. I'm claiming tomorrow for me.



I was kind of a mess yesterday. Cried a lot, and felt like someone had hung 75 pounds of scrap iron on me. I was mourning Mum, and work was being 67 kinds of impossible, and I was running on way to little sleep. Fairly strung out state of affairs.

I was in a semi-pigout state, as well. I managed to get my three servings of fruit, but I was way under on my water, and also managed to consume a large bowl of Mediterranean chicken soup (I literally consumed the bowl of soup--it was a bread bowl). And a two-ounce bag of Cheezits. And a Nestl� Crunch bar. And two Burger King Cheeseburgers. And Spouse's dinner. And an entire pack of 12 gumballs. And a Mounds candy Easter egg.

This is a day in the life of an out-of-control, compulsive overeater. If I hadn't been so tired and zonked out, I probably would have eaten more.



As incredibly exhausted and crabby and depressed as I felt yesterday, it was still a pleasure to get my hair cut and reclaim the upper part of my face from the encroaching hedgerows known as my eyebrows. Especially the wonderful and relaxing feeling of getting my hair washed. I just revel in that. But it didn't have a lasting effect on my mood, as I went home and was quite bitchy to Spouse.

Of course, the dope did buy ten boxes of Rice-A-Roni when he went to the store, as well as the wrong brand of half and half.

I lightened up a little when we had dinner, though. He barbecued again--pork loin chops this time. Served with some of the aforementioned Rice-A-Roni and Green Giant baby peas (boil-in-bag style)it was quite a respectable dinner from the Spouse. His cooking skill are limited, but he rarely screws it up completely. He did just fine.

To my credit, I did let him know I enjoyed dinner, and I was pleased that he'd added more stuff to the food drive pile (Boy Scouts are collecting on Saturday).

I wasn't energetic enough to do much more than rinse and stack the dishes, water the dog, and set up the coffee pot. I tried my damndest to stay awake, but by eight, I gave up and went to bed. I worked a crossword for 20-30 minutes, but fell asleep with pen in hand. Good thing it fell on the floor, or I'd probably Lydia the Tattooed Lady today.



As for today, I got through it with a fair amount of pep and bounce, but I'm seriously flagging now. Since I don't have to work tomorrow, I sincerely hope my screwy brain doesn't get the Three O'clock Spins in the morning. I've already administered suitable admonishments to myself on this point. I would really like to go to bed early, sleep late, and wake up rested.


Work was surprisingly calm today--no one bothered with me, except for my favorite project manager. And he's always a genuine pleasure to deal with, so no strain.

I really should have gotten more done, but I have to say frankly that I'm not feeling very motivated these days. Still, I performed a couple of my new duties, made some revisions to a document as part of my old duties, and spent some time studying up on a project that's barreling down on me. So it's not like I totally slacked.



I don't have too many plans for my three-day weekend, although Spouse mentioned that we have to go to lunch with JR, P&E, and his mother on Sunday. (Ugh.)

I have the doctor tomorrow, and I'll probably do laundry and clean up the house, just to get it out of the way. And Spouse need to get some new work-grade tees for his new job. His old ones (from two jobs ago) have lasted for years, but they are pretty much shot. I need to find a source for the same high-quality. Maybe we'll hit the Penneys and Sears outlests in Gurnee.

Saturday, my plans extend no farther that my front porch, where I will place the food donation. Spouse may have a plan that appeals, but if not, it's going to be a peaceful day of beading for this kid.

And I'm hoping that my mom gets her package tomorrow or Saturday. I checked the USPS tracking site, but apparently they only scan on delivery. So I wouldn't exactly call it a tracking site, Post Office. Delivery Confirmation Site, possibly. But not tracking.

And I'm really glad I ordered her foot stuff when I did--when I went to avon.com to look it up and recommend it to a friend, it came up "not currently available". I must have gotten some of the last in stock.

But there's plenty to be had on ebay, I see.



Poor Spouse. He's a little rattled tonight, because Raji had a seizure today. He does NOT handle that well. I mena, he handles her well when it happens, but it really upsets him a lot. Poor babe.

I think I'll get this done and go help him with dinner.



GYM REPORT:
30 minutes
1.55 miles
210 calories

That'll show me not to fuck with me.




Reading: "Death in a White Tie", by Ngaio Marsh


Listening: OCR of "Rent". I felt a powerful need to "belt" this morning. Take Me or Leave Me, Seasons of Love, Out Tonight, One Song Glory, and What You Own. Yes indeed, a powerful need to belt.


Beading: A long necklace with jade donut pendant and a multistrand/catch bead motif. Stalled, but I'll get there.


One Year Ago, I didn't post.

At Random: click here

|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com