rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















dinner for one
January 29, 2006, 5:08 P.M.

It is about five o'clock on Sunday afternoon, I've got a chicken roasting in the oven, a pan of homemade stuffing beside it. Earlier, I baked him another pound cake (at his request), and it's standing by for dessert.
The potatoes are simmering, the baby carrots are steaming--

--and Spouse just left for work.

Son of a bitch!

He got called in on an emergency. Apparently they want the entire maintenance crew there, a sort of "all hands on deck" thing. CYA, in case somebody whines that they had to come in, and someone else didn't.

So I'll just make him a nice plate, and heat it up when he gets home. Not so nice as I was planning, but what choice do I have?



Spouse took his mother out for breakfast this morning, and shopping at the Meijer. Even though every bit of common sense in my entire being screams for me to run the other way when that toxic old witch is around, I went along to provide moral support for Spouse, since I try to support him whenever he tries to be thoughtful and responsible and kind. And it is easier for me to deal her with nowadays, even though it is harder on Spouse. I think the fact that she can't remember anything keeps her from realizing that she hates me. But I know it's hard for my poor sweetie to see his mom so hazy and forgetful.

She must have asked 25 times if we knew where her keys were (in my purse), where her money was (in Spouse's pocket.) and where her garage door opener was (in the front console of her car.) Since she can't be trusted not to lose these things, she isn't allowed to carry them, but she can't remember that she doesn't have to obsess over them. It's very sad. I wish I could stand her enough to feel sorry for her. But I can't even begin to explain the many, many things she's done to me, to Spouse, and to other members of the family. It is just too late.



I punked out Friday night, and just stayed home and made a midnight dinner for Spouse. But I did go over and see spend the afternoon with her yesterday, and she's so damn good for me. She had me laughing so hard I choked, with tales of her recent travels and adventures. Oh, I needed that so bad! I feel a lot better about everything.


And in the "What is this--Junior High?" department, I gave up trying to explain to Spouse what he was doing to me with the controlling thing. I decided to take a more effective tack.

I told his brother.

And JR had a little talk with the Spousester for me. Bless him--he made it pretty clear that I was at my limit, and I notice that now Spouse is being waay more accommodating to me in the plan-making. Including changing hotels, because the place we booked is going through a major remodel, and I could not see paying good money to stay in a construction sight with all the amenities closed. I told him to switch it to the hotel I had chosen, and switch he did.

Of course, it doesn't change the problem I have getting him to listen to me, but at least there are people in his family that are can talk sense to him, and I can occasionally use them as a practical work-around.




Reading: �The Restless Sleep--Inside New York City's Cold Case Squad�, by Stacy Horn.

Listening: CD; "Avenue Q"...I'm probably going to go see that while in LV next month!

Beading: No.

One Year Ago, I was enjoying the calm before the storm.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com