rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















why look back
January 02, 2006, 1:41 P.M.

I decided not to do one of those 'year in review' posts. 2005 was mostly an awful year, and I really don't want to go over it all again. I'll refrain from deleting the year's entries, but let's not dwell on them. I really, really disliked the year.



New Year's Eve was fun, even though Spouse pooped out at 8:30 or so, and Niece only made it to 11:47. I was the last man standing, as usual.

The homemade pizzas turned out great, and everyone got what they liked. For Spouse and Nieces, that's good old cheese and sausage. For me, it was black olives, mushrooms, pepperoni, green peppers, and a local delicacy called eggplant salad--a sort of relish of eggplant, garlic, sweet peppers, and green olives, preserved in olive oil. A little on your pizza or Italian sausage sandwich, and mmmmm, heaven. We got all our supplies at a tremendous Italian deli here in town, and I sliced my pepperoni, shredded my cheese, and chopped my veggies myself, to insure the best quality.



Yesterday ended up being very quiet, as Niece's mom decided to pick her up about 11:00.

At Spouse's request, I made French onion soup (this place still reeks of caramelized onions!), and we had leftover pizza. Hung out around the house. I've been beading like mad on the spiral rope I'm doing. Reading, and just generally futzing around.



Spouse has been sick with a bad chest cold for over a week now, and hasn't felt much like a go-getter lately.
This morning we went out to the diner for breakfast, then took a quick trip to the bookstore. Spouse bought a book about cars, and a video. I bought nothing. As usual. I wish there was something out there to capture my interest! This is getting so frustrating.

After popping into the drugstore for cold medicine, we came home, and Spouse took a shower with one of those �Shower Soothers� thingies that turns the shower into a vaporizer. While I made him some homemade hot cocoa and set up his comfort zone in the living room. DVD in, warm quilt and pillows for snuggling in, Mucinex, Tylenol, Sprite, and dim lighting.

He�s dozing now, while I putter around and the dog has the hissy farts over the thunderstorms. It�s and evil day, and I�m just glad I can be home relaxing instead of having to wade though it.





Reading: �Wolf to the Slaughter�, by Ruth Rendell

Listening: The thunderstorms raging outside.

Beading: The dark amber carnival DNA spiral is getting insanely long--34.5 inches and still growing. I'm hoping to hit 36 before I run out of beads.

One Year Ago, I was looking back.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com