rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















smuggling pastry into Illinois
Wednesday, Jun. 22, 2005, 7:22 PM

Work is so incredibly intense right now that I'm ready to pull my hair out. Way too many projects, way to many non-testing responsibilities, and way too many people tugging on my sleeve for something. I don't do hectic well. Still, I'm trying my best to be cheerful and good-natured. It's so damn hard, though.

There's just not a strong enough culture of the geek ethic where I work. They don't get my moody, anti-social wunderkind style. So I have to try to be their 'happy and peppy and bursting with love' little puppet.

Like I don't have enough things going on to wear me out.



I had to do D a favor this morning, and fetch her a kringle from up here in the wilds of the Wisconsin boondocks. Seems one of the women on her team requested that for her birthday treat, but you can't get them in Northern Illinois. Rugelach, sure. Any supermarket. But the Danes and their kringles apparently stayed North of the state line.

And, gee--it's so tough to fight your way up there and get it...what with the Indian attacks, blazing your own trail, lack of fresh drinking water...

I don't mind, really. It really is very a little deal, especially when it's D. But the Northern Illinois mentality of treating Wisconsin like a distant and forbidding land really cheeses the cheesehead in me.



I'm such a creature of habit that I can't even manage to introduce a new pill time into my daily regime. I just don't seem to be able to get the hang of that five pm dose. Every day, I think about it about six or so, and go oops! But I suppose I will get it eventually. Probably about the time that I go off of it.

It is working amazingly well, though. Doing just exactly what it is supposed to do. The only side effect I�ve seen is a big increase in my appetite, and oh, I�m having a helluva time with that one.



I had chiro today, and the doc seemed to be pretty revved up about my weight loss and the improvement in my joints. Not so thrilled when I told him about the hand surgery, but then they always hate the S-word, and think they can cure anything you may have with manipulation. Sorry, Doc. Conservative measures just ain't cutting it anymore.


It�s supposed to get hot and stormy over the next few days, and that�s not something I�m looking forward to. Raji has such a time when the weather�s like that; she�ll not know whether to shit or wind her watch. And intense weather like that always makes me ache so. Ugh. Tell me again--why do I live here?


I was listening to Lilek�s latest Diner episode, and he played a children�s song with what he called �A Michael Buffer voice...a very bad and apparently uncopyrighted rip-off of the Peter Gunn theme...and the worst, crappiest, cheesiest attempt to make a B-52 sounding song, complete with Fred Schneider vocals.�

Well, it certainly was all that. But the weird thing is, (and I can�t find proof, mind you) I would be willing to swear in court that it�s Harry Shearer aping Buffer, AND camping it up with the �Fred Schneider vocals�.

Anyway, it gave me a good, well-needed laugh. I love when Lileks slices off a new chunk of the odd craziness known as
"The Diner� .

I think I�ll post this, and go listen to the rest of the show.



GYM REPORT:
30 minutes
1.72 miles
227 calories



Reading: "Eighteen", by Jan Burke.

Listening: �The Diner�. James Lileks.

Beading: "Officially not beading at this time".


One Year Ago, I was feeling like a loser.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com