rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















arrghh.
Friday, Jun. 17, 2005, 4:50 PM

Just. Too. Busy.

I've been overwhelmed by a sudden rush of software fixes at work, W needing my help over at her place, my own responsibilities and various social obligations, and an apparent shortage of hours in the day.

I'm tired all the time, grumpy and getting grumpier, and generally out of sorts. But there really is nothing for it, but to put my head down and push.



Even though I kind of took Wednesday night off, I really haven't gotten enough "me time" this week. Last night found me back over at W and T's for another round of yard prep. They hope to finish getting ready and put the pool up tomorrow. Of course, now the heat wave has passed and it is cold enough for a jacket outside.


The most interesting thing (well, to me, anyway) about Thursday was listening to Frank's Place on XM. I heard a duet called "Answering Machine", and it was driving me absolutely nuts. I knew I recognized both voices on it, but could not for the life of me figure out exactly who they were. I didn't recognize the names on the readout, but I knew those voices from somewhere.

But it finally came to me as the song was coming to the end, and the answer made me laugh with delight.

Of course, if they had been singing about unpacking your adjectives, or about getting your adverbs here, I'd have known them in an instant.



Today was another hectic morning, and then I came home and read my mail, which REALLY steamed my clams. Apparently my insurance only pays for a new filling if the old one was over three years old. So I'm stuck with the whole bill for the new one, dammit.

Well, I can't completely blame them. Personally, I felt that the dentist's office should comp the new one, since it was such a crappy job Dr. P did on the original. (It fell out after about three weeks or so.) But since Dr. P retired and sold the practice, I guess they felt no obligation to make good on his failure. Sucks, but there you go. And it's bad enough that I have to pay the entire $113.00, but the denial also means that my entire deductible still stands, so I still have that to pay it if I have any more work done.

Spouse and I ran over to the bank, then grabbed some takeout at SRO and came home to eat lunch. I had a wonderful garden salad with a grilled chicken breast, and I used my own dressing--I found Ken's "Creamy Bacon and Tomato" at Meijer, and it is terrific. It tastes a lot like the old Kraft bacon and tomato dressing that they stopped making. I've been missing that one for years.

Then I ran my library books back, and went to use the catalog to look up some titles, but was thwarted by their lousy system.

Since they off-shored their servers, you can only access their catalog through the 'net. That wouldn't be too bad, if : A) they didn't make you all but leave body parts at the desk in order to sign on, and B) they didn't have an internet connection that sucks donkey balls.

It pissed me off, because I especially wanted to see if Making Time: Lillian Moller Gilbreth, A Life Beyond "Cheaper by the Dozen", by Jane Lancaster, was in yet. I've got a hold on it, but I've been waiting a while, and haven't gotten a call. Our library is kind of undependable with that, so I thought I'd just check. Guess I thought wrong.

But I didn't have the time to fart around, so I gave up and ran to the grocery store. Which was, apparently, also participating in "thwart whyme" day. After eleven years, they suddenly decided to move all the stuff in the store around, and it took me about three times as long to do the shopping as it used to. Grrr.

Tonight, W, T, and I are going to go out to dinner, and then to a musical performed by our local city-wide high school drama troupe. Tonight is an open dress rehearsal where they are taking donations for their trip to Nebraska, where they have been invited to perform at the International Thespian Society's Convention, on the main stage. A big honor for them.

Of course, I always support the local high school theatre geeks, but tonight I'm going strictly because of the show. They are doing Stephen Sondheim's "Sweeney Todd; The Demon Barber of Fleet Street". This happens to be in my top three musicals of all time, and it is W's number one. When I asked her if she was interested in going, I got blasted with a very uncharacteristic level of enthusiasm in her OHHELLYEAH! response.

Really--how could I not adore a show containing a song called "They All Deserve to Die"?



As for this weekend, my time is spoken for once again. Tomorrow I'm stuck going to Spouse's company picnic in South Milwaukee. Don't wanna. But yet again, he makes me feel obligated to go to his company function, when I never in a million years would force that situation on him. I find that irksome, but it always happens.

Spouse has Sunday earmarked as the official anniversary celebration. He's taking me to brunch at The Cottonpicker, a very nice restaurant in Burlington, Wisconsin. We brunched there once when we were first going out, so it seemed a fitting place to honor our years together.



(Thursday's) GYM REPORT:
33 minutes
1.86 miles
241 calories



Reading: The July issue of "Vanity Fair". Which finally arrived, nearly two weeks late.

Listening: CD of" Sweeney Todd; The Demon Barber of Fleet Street". Warming up for tonight's performance.

Beading: "Officially not beading at this time".


One Year Ago, I: Was recovering from making jam.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com