rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















back from graduation
Monday, May. 23, 2005, 9:32 PM

Dear Diary;
Did ja miss me?
The recent lack of posting is a result of all the time it takes to: A) do a good job at work, B) get all your regular weekend chores done early so you can go out of town on the weekend, and C) going out of town on the weekend.

I spent Thursday and Friday (after work) getting my shit together for the trip to Iowa for my niece's graduation. Laundry, house cleaning, errands, and beading jewelry to complement my new rose-pink and black suit.

Using what I could find in my bead box, I succeeded in crafting a twisted, multi-strand necklace of black seed beads, with accent beads of sterling silver, various sizes and shapes of black glass, and discs of rose quartz. I did a pair of simple dangle earrings using the same beads, and silver lever-back findings. It came out very well, and went beautifully with my outfit.

And speaking of beads, my mom was thrilled with her green and yellow bracelet, and my niece equally so with the nubbly DNA spiral in blues, greens, and purples that I did for her "something personal" gift.

Everyone in my family was examining my handiwork (including the "pink ice" necklace and bracelet I was wearing) and making much of my talents. Between that and having them all terribly impressed with my smashing weight loss, I was purring like a kitten. Nothing like tons of validation and praise from your most critical audience to really make you feel like a million.

Even my dad's youngest brother and an aunt who has never had anything good to say about me in my life were fulsome in their pride over my slimming down. I was starting to get a big head. Thank heavens my uber-sarcastic oldest brother was there to snark at me and keep my feet on the ground.

Speaking of impressive relatives, I was flummoxed to realize that my niece is incredibly popular and well-beloved in her school and community. She is a gorgeous thing, with enormous eyes of vivid blue, a statuesque physique, and tawny blonde hair. As well as a larger than life personality and a heart that is even bigger than that.

Her Open House had 275 people show up, of all ages from infants to senior citizens. Customers from her job at the local supermarket, friends and teachers from school, from church, neighbors, grandparents, aunts and uncles, Great-aunts and Great-uncles (including my most beloved aunt and uncle from Phoenix, who I was surprised and thrilled to see), first, second, and third cousins, children her mom has had in daycare from over the last ten years--all there for "Famous Amos". And they all just adore her.

I was amazed, and stunned, and enormously proud, and a little intimidated. Quite a girl.
And quite a haul, incidentally. She raked it in. aside from a ton of gifts (which included the $1000.00 laptop from my parents, my brother, and me), she managed to pile up
$2100.00 in cash. Damn--when I graduated, I bet I got about $150.00 all together.



The graduation was pretty impressive, since the A's class had eight valedictorians, and her school has an award-winning a capella choir. We didn't get to see the whole thing, though, because we had to get home by a reasonable hour.

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn, because I am an idiot. I had the Fairfield confused with the Comfort Inn, where the pool is huge and the exercise room is well-equipped. As opposed to the Fairfield, where the pool is small, and they have no exercise room. But the room was nice, I got good use of the pool, and the rate was reasonable.



You know, I have tons more I want to say, and gym reports to post, but since I just got of the phone after about 90 minutes with W and T, and it is bed time, and I am beat, I'm just going to put this entry up as is. Maybe I'll say more tomorrow, if I have the time.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com