rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















entry 360
Thursday, May. 12, 2005, 5:59 PM

A Quote for today...

"Up to 1963, it was still possible for thinking men to believe in progress. A just war had been fought and won, and this time the result would be, if not a land fit for heroes, at least a society fit for humans. We who grew up in the sixties and seventies and came to our maturity in the dreadful eighties have seen the destruction of that dream without ever having had the joy of dreaming it."

~from �Recalled to Life�, by Reginald Hill




If the weather would just improve, I think I'd feel better. For more than just a day, I mean. Tuesday was warm and sunny, but by Wednesday I was sleeping under the electric blanket again. Today was another raw morning, with a chill wind howling. The dog is going nuts from the wind, and the thunderstorms. And things are not going to improve for a while, apparently. More storms tonight, probably. Bleah.


Spouse has decided that he can go to Iowa next week (for my niece's graduation), after all. I told him he kind of had to "shit or get off the pot", because I was running out of time to book the dog a reservation at the kennel. I don't know if he arranged a schedule swap or just got permission for the time off, but he says he's going.

Since I planned on going with or without him, this doesn't affect my plans, but it will be nicer to have him along. For one thing, he'll do the driving! He had toyed with the notion of me driving and him riding the bike, but with the unpredictable weather lately, I think he's thought better of that idea.



I want to relax tonight, because I know I'm going to be screamingly, insanely busy tomorrow. I have a million and a half errands to run and chores to do, since I have to work Saturday, and am going out of town the following week. Hair, brows, nails, grocery shopping, clothes shopping (I have NOTHING decent, that fits, to wear to a graduation.) cleaning, and assorted other small errands that need running.

So I want to wrap this up quick. This diary thing feels more like an obligation than a treat lately.



GYM REPORT:
33 minutes
1.83 miles
238 calories.

I got going, and I didn't want to stop.

And I'm so hungry today! I had my orange at 9:30, but by 11:30 I ended up running down to the cafeteria and buying an apple, because I was famished.

Then, this afternoon, D. treated everyone in the office to Dilly bars from Dairy Queen. I still don't know how she managed that, as we are stuck in the middle of nowhere at work. There must be a DQ somewhere nearby, I guess. But those little fuckers are FULL of fat--more than a 6 pack or Oreos! Only about 210 calories, though. I'll survive. It sure was yummy.




Reading: �Recalled to Life�, by Reginald Hill. (a Dalziel and Pascoe novel)

Listening: CD--Jann Arden's "Living Under June". I want her new one, but it's classed as an import, and runs thirty bucks US.

Beading: Earrings to go with a choker I did a while back.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com