rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















new pope and other stuff
Tuesday, Apr. 19, 2005,

Went to the hospital for my blood draw this morning. I got there at 5:50, ten minutes before they opened, and I still only managed fourth in line. Grr. I ended up being forty minutes late, but I'd warned my co-worker on Monday that I probably would be. You can never just bip in and bip out, and if you miss the 6:05-6:10 window of opportunity on the toll way, the commute time skyrockets.



New Pope. As was pointed out by the great Manolo, he looks like Uncle Fester (the Christopher Lloyd version).
Another "traditionalist", but sans the charisma this time. I'm not Catholic, so I am not affected by this as thoroughly as those who are. But anyone who thinks this doesn't affect them, no matter what their beliefs, is...naive.
At least he's pretty old. This one probably won't be in the saddle for over a quarter-century, like JPII.


Well, as per doctor's orders, I bought the prunes. Now, I just need to get myself to EAT the prunes. I had a bowl of Weetabix cereal after my lean cuisine last night, but I had to stop eating before I could get into the prune thing. I'd hit the 12-hour-fast deadline.


I'll give them a shot tonight, after dinner. I'm making pasta w/ red sauce, so I'll be craving sweets after. Maybe I can slip the prunes into that void. I can't believe I have to try and trick myself like this, but I guess I have no choice. My conscious mind is just flat-out rejecting the concept.



Gym Report::
33 minutes
1.81 miles
225 calories
weigh-in: 253.5


Much more of a standard workout today. BUT.

Here is the thing that is good for me that is above and beyond the workout and the diet thing that I did for me today:

I didn't smoke at lunch time. Before or after my workout. I just didn't.

No promises for future behavior, but that is what I did for me today.




Reading: "Where is Joe Merchant?", by Jimmy Buffett. An enjoyable re-read.


Listening: Listening: XM Satellite Radio, And I'm all over the dial today. I can't seem to settle on anything...


Beading: A stringing project, multiple strands of seed beads with periodic catch beads. Earth-toned simulated gem chips, and copper metallic. I took a crack at this once before, and it tanked. So I'm lining up to take another shot.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com