rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















thursday, and up-to-date
Thursday, Mar. 24, 2005, 5:53 PM

It started at Fark, a couple weeks ago--then Diaryland began to have serial hemorrhages. Now, I can't even get into my Yahoo.

Are the Internets broken?

It's a bore.

Did I mention that I quit Fark? When I realized the ridiculous amount of vituperative, spittle-flecked rage that was contained in a thread about The Olive Garden, I decided to resign.

So I just quit. I changed my profile to indicate that I was an EX-Farker, and gave my reasons for leaving.

Which were basically that all the things I used to like about Fark had gone by the wayside: Interesting arguments, hilarious posts, catchy screen names, and great Photoshops.

You just don't get that anymore. It started with the polarizing effect of the elections, along with an influx a new trolls...they can turn anything into a flame war now, and they do.

The Olive Garden article was about how the restaurant in Santa Barbara sent the Jackson jurors pizza, because the judge is being a dicktard about lunch breaks. Several valiant souls tried to keep the thread on track, but it almost instantly degenerated into "OLIVE GARDEN SUCKS!!!" and "OLIVE GARDEN DOESN'T SUCK, YOU SUCK!!!", etc., etc., ad-nauseum.

Uhh-yeah. Whatever. G'by-ee!


Speaking of Diaryland, I'm thinking it may be time to go... I keep writing these entries, but I can't post them to my diary for days on end. I'm not mad, or pissy-indignant--I have a free diary, which is a huge gift, and one I appreciate greatly. I feel horrible about even wanting to move, because I love the Diaryland community, and I love my diary. But if I can't use it, I have to find one I can use. Maybe I'll just go back offline again.

And, on top of everything else, Andrew has just lost his dog, so I feel like I'm kicking the guy when he's down. RIP, Ralph.


Or maybe I'll just stop keeping a diary.

Not really much point, when you don't really have a live of your own to live. I'm currently in the position of using up 99.999% of my life supporting the needs of people who are not me. Even the gym is more about staying strong and healthy enough to take care of all the load of shit that everyone expects me to take care of.

So what's to write about, anyway?


I suppose, what with getting hacked at and sneezed on at work AND at home, that this cold could not be avoided. But I can only take getting a couple of colds a year, and I've had three already in 2005. I just do not have the stamina to fight through another one. Man, this is exhausting.

I felt so horrid last night, I could barely walk, talk, see, or breathe.

Not entirely due to the cold, although I'm sure that was part of it. But work was particularly evil yesterday, and I was a teary, emotional wreck from the stress.

Once I got home, it was a huge struggle to do anything other than collapse in a chair and stare into space.

I made dinner for Spouse, because I had promised I would, but I was just not hungry at all. I forced myself to eat a country-style rib and drink a glass of milk, because I just plain needed fuel, but when you feel like this, it's all so gross.

I didn't sleep very well last night, either--kept waking up with one side or the other feeling like it was packed solid with snot. Weird dreams, too. Swimming in a river of thick, viscous white goo, and almost drowning.

Wow. That's the best "I'm totally overwhelmed" dream since the one where I got swept away by a flash flood, and all I felt was relieved.



WTF spam header of the day: " Emmett Comer...... Get your hand-clock repliacs todday coward "

Since I NEVER open spam, I have no idea what that's about. But it made me laugh, so there is that.



I PUNKED OUT ON THE GYM TODAY. I had lunch instead. Pepperoni pizza and an ice cream sandwich.

Hey, I may be going to Hell, but at least I'll be warm for a change.



IN THE NEWS:

Texas refinery blast toll stands at 14, 1 missing.

Oil prices rise on runup in gas futures, triggered by explosion at a u.s. Oil refinery.

More carmakers are offering up either XM or Sirius Satellite receivers on new cars.

Former "Foghat" guitarist Rod Price died Tuesday as a result of head trauma sustained in a stairway fall in his New Hampshire home. He was 57.




Reading: "The Other Side of Ethel Mertz...The Life Story of Vivian Vance", by Frank Castellucio and Alvin Walker.


Listening: XM Satellite Radio, "70's on 7".
Song Sample For Today is a triple play: Jim Croce,"I Got A Name", David Bowie, "Space Oddity", and Kenny Rogers, "The Coward of the County" They played 1-2-3, just like that. I love Satellite! Even though yesterday stunk.


Beading: Nothing.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com