rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















yesterday sucked and it doesn't look good for tomorrow
Thursday, Mar. 03, 2005,

QUOTE OF THE DAY:

"I've started over again and again and again. I've set deadlines and made lists and compiled charts and announced goals. I've turned over so many new leaves that the Sierra Club has filed a restraining order."
~Chris Livingston, of "Not My Desk"



I don't care how much it costs me. Tomorrow after work, I'm going to go buy myself some pants that fit. This "please Hammer, don't hurt 'em" look I'm sporting is driving me mad.

I really don't want to drive a zillion miles to do it, but the chances of finding anything of good cut, fit, quality and price in this town are less than zero. The Avenue stores near here are totally ghetto, Torrid is way too young for me and all the way up in 'Tosa, Catherines are overpriced old lady stores, and the Bug has gotten really crappy in quality.

Most of the department and discount stores carry the kind of low-quality clothing where 5 sizes cover a 150 lb difference in weight. That leaves Lane Bryant, where everything is miles too long, or Penney's. Where almost everything is miles too long.

Honestly. My height and, rise, and inseam are pretty much average. Why does everyone assume that if you are heavy, you are seventeen feet tall?

Offered up as evidence that pants are never the right length for me, here is something I found on the Fashion Slug website:

plus sizes
Fashion Bug plus sizes range from plus size 14 to 28, with most styles also available up to size 32. Our standard Fashion Bug plus sizes are cut for women with an average height of 5� 6".

Fashion Bug plus petite sizes are cut for women 5� 4� or shorter, and Fashion Bug plus tall sizes are cut for women 5� 9� or taller.

I'm 5'5". Look at those sizes again.

But a person's gotta go clothed, and so I stake out tomorrow as "Pantsquest '05".

Shirtsquest, too. Maybe Undiesquest in the bargain.



I called my Doctor and made an appointment for my physical. I'll discuss the hand surgery thing with him then. I couldn't get in till April 15th though.

TAX Day.

Oh, well, good day for a pap smear. Day's shot anyway.



GYM REPORT:

30 minutes

1.60 miles

228 calories




Reading: "Malice Domestic 10", edited by Nevada Barr. Short Story Anthology, mysteries of the "domestic" sub-genre.


Listening: XM, 70's on 7


Beading: No current project.


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com