rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















Monday is the new Tuesday?
Monday, Feb. 21, 2005, 5:56 PM

Work is simply killing me. Taking my friggin' life. Putting my in my bygod grave. I've gone so completely off of it in my heart and mind that it doesn't even make sense to me anymore. It's like the job belongs to someone else completely.

It woke me up at three-friggin'-thirty in the AM to fret. So I'm a leeetle bit strung out about it right now. But truly--objectively--it really is pretty friggin' grim.



Yep--ridiculously early start to the day, plus I had to put up with the dog's diva shenanigans (morning potties will be my responsibility from now on), and I had to drive Spouse's GP to work, because he needs the Rocket to take his rollaway toolbox to the plant.

I hate driving his car. I don't drive it often enough to feel comfortable in it, and the last time I drove it, I blew a tire on the Tollway. So that adds to the morning stressload. Got there in one piece, but you don't know that until you get there, do you?

And Aunt Flo showed up just in time to fuck up the work week, as well. Yay.

And all the news was sad today.

And my right eyeglass lens fell out of the frames, again.

And, as previously mentioned, work exceeded all expectations in regard to craptacularity.

So is Monday the new Tuesday? (Strictly speaking, Tuesday was actually the new Monday, so I guess that now Monday is the new Monday. Or the Old Monday. Wait. Never mind.)

Of course, there is always the possibility that Tuesday is still the suckiest day of the week--in which case,
tomorrow will be even worse than today. What a disgusting thought.



As I said, Spouse started the new job this afternoon. I'm praying he does well, and is able to make that
first-to-second shift transition successfully one more time. It isn't easy to start a new job, change shifts,
or adjust to a longer commute. And the older we get, the harder it is.

But maybe the momentum of a job he doesn't have to dread will help carry him though. I just want one of us to not hate their job with a festering, soul-crushing bitterness.



Sunday was very quiet around our place. It snowed/sleeted/rained, we stayed home. I washed dishes and did laundry and made a nice dinner. He cleared the walks, made breakfast, and tried to sleep his remaining cold away. I read, he watched DVDs. We both puttered at the PC a little bit. I wasn't really up to beading, or doing too much. I'm still trying to get over the flu, too. I run out of oomph a lot.


I'm reading "Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination", by Helen Fielding.
It's okay...less "chick lit"-ish than the Bridget Jones books, and laced with espionage.

The main character is fairly likeable. Where Bridget was about 65/35 loveable/infuriating, Olivia is more in the likeable/exasperating range, and about 50/50. But she's still a very cool character, and the plot is sometimes silly, but fun, with some surprisingly affecting and somber interludes.

I don't really want to compare it too heavily to "Diary" and "The Edge of Reason", because those books had their start in a very different kind of writing. Short, episodic pieces for a newspaper column are not written in the same way as a flat-out novel. And while Fielding is not quite as good at the flat-out novel as she was at the columns, "Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination" is certainly not chopped liver.

It isn't an Earth-shaking, life-changing read. It is an engaging and enjoyable light novel, with a strong, confident, resourceful female protagonist. As escapist fair goes, it goes pretty well.

(After reading the above over, I submitted it to Amazon Reader Reviews.)



GYM REPORT:

27.00 minutes

1.43 miles

181 calories

Not the best, but respectable. Every time I post a loss, I lose some calorie burn and have to play catch-up a little. And since I had a real battle with myself to even do it today, I'll settle for that.




Reading: "Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination", by Helen Fielding.


Listening: XM Radio--Laugh! 151, Comedy 150


Beading: Thinking up some earrings to go with the ladder-stitch choker.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com