rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















man I feel good
Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005, 5ish

A bit of doggerel that I whipped up and posted to fark, upon hearing this morning's news:

A horse is a horse, of course of course,
And no one can marry a horse, of course,
That is, of course, unless the horse
Is Camilla Parker-Bowles!

Now Camilla will never be Queen, of course
(Ain't it a shame that they're both divorced?)
Though the marriage is QEII-endorsed...
Not so popular with the Proles!



Hubby had several interviews today, so I'm hoping that the job searches will be fruitful, and the unemployment will be short. He has gotten very fast response from the r�sum�s and calls he's put out and that's encouraging, to say the least.

In fact, he's so busy, that when I asked him what he wanted for dinner, he just suggested a pickup meal, as he "wasn't going to have time to cook today". It apparently never crossed his mind that I would cook dinner...talk about encouraging! There's an attitude we need to promote!



For what it's worth, my dinner tonight will be (as soon as I go nuclear on it, anyway):
Lean Cuisine Glazed Chicken--the larger sized (13 ounce) Dinnertime Selections.
A large (2 cups) portion of Birdseye Broccoli, Carrots & Water Chestnuts, steamed, with a spritz of fake butter spray.
A handful of Red Flame seedless grapes, with an ounce of part-skim mozzarella.
A bottle of Le Nature's "Ice Water" in the lime variety. Mmmm. Very good stuff. Just purified water, with a zing of citrus. 20 ounce bottles, and they were on sale, four for .98.

I know this translates to about five servings of fruits and vegetables in one meal. What can I say? I like fruits and veggies.

And it seems like a big meal, but I have to keep in mind that I only eat one real meal a day.

This particular meal only has about 560 calories, and 12 grams of fat. (18% of the USRDA) Plus lots of vitamins, minerals, and almost half the USRDA for fiber. So yeah, it's a big meal. But fairly guilt fee. And I justify the mozzarella by considering the calcium and protein.



I'm feeling much better after seeing the chiro last night...the massive crackage of my neck was enough to elicit from me a very loud WHOA!!. I'm sure everyone in the office heard me. But good lord above. What relief.

I did mention to the doc that I thought a little traction would feel great, and so he performed some wonderful neck stretches and some trigger point therapy to stretch my neck muscles and loosen my shoulders.

And then I went home and did the old "two tennis balls in a sweat sock " treatment on my neck. It still works pretty darn well for something so low-tech. And after I'd finished, I was so relaxed it was all I could do to keep from falling asleep before eight.

I slept like the proverbial log, woke up feeling pretty good, and felt even better after a hot shower. It is such a relief to be down to my "normal" levels of pain, and to look forward to the gym again. I think I'm going to start doing the tennis ball trick every night for a few minutes at a time.



Gym Report:

30 minutes

1.59 miles

213 calories

I didn't over-push today, either...I felt too good to want to wreck it all on the mill. But I did manage to stay on for another 3 minutes, which helped overall. It was at a cool-down pace, but it still helps.

One of the other things I've learned the hard way is that I absolutely must give myself an adequate cool-down at the end of my workout. If I don't, the buzz and the energy from the exercise are lost, and I feel pooped out for the rest of the day. I can feel that way without exercising, so what's the point of any of it, if I don't do it right?

True to my vow, I am trying very hard to drink more water. Yesterday it was no problem, though. I was so damned thirsty! I finished out the day at around eighty ounces. I'm trying for about the same before bedtime tonight.
I really hate to spend that much time peeing, though.



Now that my neck and shoulders feel better, I'm feeling like beading again. The bead store is open late tonight, so I'll probably go over there later for some stuff, and then come home to bead. Or maybe I'll just go over there and bead at the project table, and generally hang out. I don't, usually, but it might be nice for a change. Gotta remember to take my water along, if I do.




Reading: "The Years Best Mystery and Suspense Stories, 1983", edited by Edward D. Hoch. Also, Agatha Christie's "The Secret Adversary" br>


Listening: XM Radio, Laugh USA, Comedy 150


Beading: Oh, maybe tonight.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com