rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















for me, Arthur, it's always been Tuesdays
Tuesday, Feb. 01, 2005, 3:51 PM

Seeing no reason to change her ways at this point, Absentee Boss is out the rest of the week, training for her new position. So now that it is Tuesday (@#%&*), and the first day of the month, and all the systems failed last night, I get to be in charge.

Of what, I have only the vaguest of ideas. You know, on account of she can't be bothered enough to get organized enough to let me in on it.

And Real Boss is, as always, consummately unavailable.

The system crashes are holding up progress on a rush test job I should be working on, but there isn't a whole lot I can do about it, and that's a fact. A fact which will NOT be considered when my ass is on the line for failing to test it.



Spouse called me at work at 7:30 this morning. His psycho boss started in with the craziness first thing, I guess. Told Spouse that he had not been given Monday off, Boss never said that, you must be nuts, what kind of shit are you trying to pull, etc.

Spouse refused to engage or enrage in order to feed the nutbag's twisted needs. He told the guy that if it was going to be that way, he'd just take his tools and leave. With the blood pressure problems, Spouse doesn't need to be exposed to that level of personality toxicity, so he won't put up with the bullying anymore.

Of course, like any standard bully, his boss backpedaled like crazy once his bluff was called. And he ended up giving Spouse today off to cool down.

Now all this is pretty standard where Spouse works, and he found out that all the other guys have gotten reamed out one after another in the last couple of days, so apparently it was just Spouse's turn. And Psycho-Bully-Boss doesn't exactly need a valid excuse to go off of the deep end. But this kind of workplace behavior upsets me terribly. I'm used to incredible displays of personal and corporate incompetence, but the raving, spittle-flecked loon style of management never fails to freak me out. And no one knows that better than Spouse.

Which is apparently why he had to rush to the phone and dump all this on me as quickly as he possibly could.

To sum up:
It is Tuesday.



On the upside, Spouse made dinner last night, and will be making dinner tonight.

Of course, even his upside has a downside. Last night we had potatoes fried in bacon fat, fried ham, fried eggs, and toast slathered with butter. Tonight he's making Sloppy Joes and french fries. So much for even attempting to eat a diet that is anywhere near healthy. I may have to have a salad for lunch just so I can say I've got a nodding acquaintance with green vegetables this week.



Gym Report:

26.00 minutes

1.5 miles

206 calories

Yeah, I really pushed it today. I had a whole morning of "Tuesday Brand Ultrashit" to burn off. I just wish I had a longer lunch "hour"--whatever I do, it has to be under half an hour, after you figure the time to get down there and change, and to change again and get back.



When I got home last night, my beads were waiting. Unfortunately, they sent the wrong ones. Dammit.

I'm the one who really goof, because I've had a lot of people tell me not to use that company, because their photos online and in the catalog are very misleading. But I'm screwed anyway, because the only place in the USA with the beads I need is a notoriously difficult Michigan wholesale firm, and they require a $100.00 minimum order and a tax ID to use them, anyway.

I'll show what they sent to my client, and see what she thinks. We may go with them yet.

I still have to find the pewter pendants for this project. Working on it...gotta find shoe-shaped charms in the right size.



I'm beat. Think I'll have my dinner, sit back, and ohshitihshitoshit. I just remembered. Tomorrow is my dear sweet friend D's birthday, and I have nothing for her! I guess she's getting earrings, so I'd better get beading!




Reading: "The Last Time They Met", by Anita Shreve.


Listening: XM Radio, "Fred". (Alternative sounds of the 70s and 80s).


Beading: I guess I'd better whip out some earrings!




recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com