rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















white world out there
Saturday, Jan. 22, 2005, 8:15 AM

From my personal point of view, the timing is pretty good for this storm.. I have all weekend to work at clearing it; I have nowhere I need to be, and the house is well-stocked with the necessities of life.

I rather wish Spouse wasn�t driving to Atlanta this morning, but at least they are taking his boss�s Suburban 4WD. He got up early and did the initial digging out, so I will be just trying to maintain the clearing of walks and driveway.

I tried helping him , but since I seemed to be more in the way than anything, I came in to make him homemade hot cocoa. I didn�t realize till I had the cocoa, sugar, and water in the pan, that he was out of milk. I walked down to the mini-mart on the corner and picked up some. Apparently the blizzard pricing is applying today. I paid the special "gouge'em" rate of $2.29 A QUART. Glad I don't have to shop there too often.

Anyway, after he showered and dressed, he had a couple minutes to sit down and have his cocoa before he had to meet his boss. I hate having to say goodbye when he's going to be traveling in this shit.

As for me, after kissing him goodbye and taking the dog out, I took the leftover cocoa plus my morning coffee, and converted it to a sort of bastardized mocha latte, and prepared to hunker down for a snowy weekend.



Yesterday was kind of hectic. After putting in a morning at the office, I went to the gym for a good stomp on the treadmill, then cruised back to town and ran all my errands so that I�d get them in before the snow. So did everyone else in town, though, so traffic and congestion were a pain. I went to the bank, did some grocery shopping, got my hair cut and my brows waxed, filled my car up, and went to Sears check out the clothes.

They had one rack filled with what appeared to be really cute pants, marked down to $9.99. I couldn�t believe it, because they had the full range of colors and sizes. I grabbed some and hit the dressing room, where I found out why these pants were still unsold. I don�t know what kind of misshapen trick of a cruel fate you would have to be to have these pants actually fit you, but for. get. it. It was almost comical to think that somewhere, someone thought that this is how large people are shaped. I did remember to pick up a replacement for the water filter, though. (Finally. I should have replaced it in September.)

Spouse was already home when I rambled in, and we puttered around, getting him packed and such. We ordered Chinese for dinner because I was feeling lazy, and we ate early and kicked back as the snow started up outside. Around 7:00, I took Raj for a last trip around the neighborhood while we still could, and it was already starting to get bad out. Then I turned on Forensic Files and finished the necklace I was beading.



Today�s plans include occasional half-hearted attempts at moving snow, a lot of sinfully lazy cozying with my dog, DVDs, and a comfy bed, doing some site cleanup on this page and the archives page, general surfing and playing on the computer, and maybe, just maybe, I might do some housework.

And leftover Chinese food. My plans definitely include leftover Chinese food.








Reading: �The Eyre Affair", by Jasper Fforde (1st Thursday Next book)


Listening: not really.


Beading: finished the bright silver metallic spiral necklace. May start a matching bracelet.




recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com