rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















headaches of several varieties
Wednesday, Jan. 19, 2005,

Wow, did I have a world-class headache this morning! Two (forbidden) Advil to dull it, and it still hung around till after the gym. That's what comes of bragging on how seldom you get a migraine. I did, on Monday...and first thing Wednesday, here comes the pain and the fireworks and the smell of burnt sugar. I think the smell thing is the worst, actually, given my sensitivity to unpleasant odors.



Work has me so stressed, I can't keep my hands off of the beads when I get home. I actually worked on the silver-finish DNA spiral while dinner was cooking last night, because I craved the serenity so. And after dinner, I was playing Bookworm, when I realized I'd rather be beading. So I just bailed in the middle of the game. That is not like me; the Grand Archivist. But I let 'er burn down, just the same. And went off to my beads (and Cold Case Files/Forensic Files/North Mission Road trifecta). I gained several inches on it last night, which is a lot considering the stitch, and that I'm working with #11 beads.

And I can't wait to get back to it again.



The weather is still sucky. It snowed last night; a bitterly cold wind making it impossible to tell just how much. It did warm up some (finally) this morning, but more snow is on the way, they say. By the weekend, we could see a 3-6 incher of a storm. Which one again validates the truism that when Spouse leaves town in the winter, WE GET SNOW. Ick.


Speaking of which, can I just say that I'll be glad to see the back of him? Even though he's going to Altanta, and the Falcons are playing for the Conference Championship? (I'm aware that they are playing in Philly, but I'm sure Atlanta will be hopping, too.) Even though he's working a trade show, and he really hates trade shows?

I'm sorry, but I've had to spend more time with him this winter than I have in years, and even though I love him dearly, it has never been a good idea for us to be together all the time. This is just a given. If we hadn't faced it early on, and accepted it as a simple fact, we wouldn't be staring down the barrel of twenty years right now.

His absence makes it so much easier for me to eat right, exercise more, and enjoy myself and my friends. And I do need to do that every so often. Spoiling him is a full time job, and doesn't leave me much room for anything else. His business trips let me restore the balance, and keep me from resenting him too much.



Gym Report:



27 minutes



1.43 miles



197 calories.

Getting there.



I need to get new glasses. Baaaad. These are driving me nuts; they haven't fit right since I bent them up a couple months back, during a badly miscalculated vehicle entry. High index lenses don't work real well, if you aren't looking through exactly the right spot, so having them sit crooked is headache fuel. And the lenses are so scratched, they're pretty well shot.

To that end, I opted to sign up for vision insurance this year, because I checked out the benefit and it lookedpractical--I'd pretty much get out what I put in, anyway.

Well. Turns out that the only eye doctors who are willing to take this crappy insurance are the private clinic, ridiculously priced ones. So in order to be eligible for my lens and frames allowance, I'll probably have to spend five times what I would at a discount place, without insurance.

Skunked again.



I'm enjoying the Thursday Next stories; I wish I'd found them in the proper order, but still. I checked the author's website, and it looks like there are four so far. I'll probably keep reading. Sort of a mystery/alternative history/science fiction thing going on, and a likeable, all-too-human main character. But after I finish this one, I want to get back to my classics. As for "The Mayor...", I keep putting down, picking up, putting down, etc. I really think it would be easier to sit down and read it a whacking big chunk at a time, but unfortunately, my reading schedule doesn't work like that anymore. Snippets are all I get, and a whole chapter in a sitting is almost unheard of, unless they are very short.





Reading: �The Eyre Affair", by Jasper Fforde (1st Thursday Next book)


Listening: XM Laugh USA, Avenue Q CD


Beading: See above. Spirals are so relaxing!





recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com