rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















try to remember the kind of December...
Thursday, Dec. 30, 2004,

I was able to view the death of Susan Sontag in a detached manner, because I never cared for her writing. I acknowledge the impact she had, and view her work as tremendously important for women in this country, but I simply never felt an emotional connection to her or her work.

Jerry Orbach, on the other hand...I cried. To me, he was the great Broadway Star. I didn't watch 'Law & Order', so I never identified him as Lennie Briscow. I thought him above the role when he played Dr. Houseman in "Dirty Dancing". He was El Gallo, Billy Flynn, Julian Marsh, Chuck Baxter...he was Lumiere.
He was a damned good actor. A gifted singer. A nice guy, by most accounts. And he'll be missed.



I really don't feel like writing anymore about my vacation. We ate well (BullShrimp, The Feast Around the World, Fado, Trophy's, The Original Pancake House, etc.), gambled (I lost very little, playing up and down and up again), shopped (Flea-Bag Barkery, Pottery Barn, Ethel M, GVR Gift Shop, etc.), walked, took a short jaunt into town to get cigars and some other stuff, and generally had a lovely time. 'Nuff Said.


I had to take Spouse's car to work on Tuesday, and I got a flat tire. First time in 9 years that I broke down on the Interstate, and it's his car. Actually, it worked out better that way, because he has Pontiac Roadside Assistance, and I just called them and they sent someone to change it. I called Spouse, and he insisted on coming down to me when it happened. Sweet. He took the tire with him and had it repaired while I drove to work on the spare. He is off work this week and had time to deal with it. Yesterday, he put the repaired tire back on his car. The repair cost a whole $5.50. I love the cheap tire place!


He took Niece and Nephew to Sal & Carvao for lunch yesterday. A Christmas treat, and a chance to expose them to fine dining and good manners. They quite enjoyed it. JR was supposed to go, but was too busy at work and couldn't get away. After lunch, he brought them back to our house and they hung out awhile, so they could see me and we could do our gift exchange. J & A came with little T to pick them up, and we did our gifties. I got homemade cookies from Nephew, a lavender candle from Niece, a $ store cutting board from little T, and WE got a $50 Texas Roadhouse cert and a sausage & cheese assortment from J & A. T got his RC truck and was quite enthralled with it. N & N got their rodizio and $50 apiece, and seemed pleased. J & A always get a gift cert for dinner, and a standing offer of babysitting to go along. Everyone seemed content. Spouse got some car cleaning stuff, as that has become a tradition with the kids.


I got my raise notification this week. Whoopee. A whole seventy-six cents an hour. Let's have a freakin' parade. Between the insurance increase and the taxes, it will probably make my take-home go down.
Miserable friggin' shithole. AND Boss-man is talking about me taking classes again, but I'd be a true fool if I believed him at this point, wouldn't I?


I have a 4-day weekend this week, and simply cannot wait to be away from the black hole of work.
I truly doubt I'll get my way, as I never do when Spouse is around, but I want peace, quiet, computer time, beading time, no running around, and no company.

LV is all well and good, but I kind of got that gift forced on me by Mr. Wishful Thinking assuming it is what I wanted for Christmas because it was what HE wanted for Christmas. I got no bookstore gift cards this year, but I did get the bead store card, and would love to go spend it. And I want to go to the bookstore anyway.

And someday, I'd like it if someone got me SOMETHING I truly wanted that wasn't a gift card. It wouldn't have to be expensive, as long as it was something I really, truly desired. And another human being had taken the time to get to know that, and to get it for me. That would be the greatest gift of all. Spouse can be very generous, and he really tries, but even when he had a box of chocolates custom built for me at Ethel M--he filled it with all of his favorites. He's self-centered, and most of the time, that's okay. I can deal.

But when it comes to Christmas, he only has that blind spot with me. Everyone else, he can put his finger on their heart's desire, and will half-kill himself to grant their fondest wish.

And I get a bowling ball named Homer.


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com