rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















a whole week is too much for one entry
Wednesday, Dec. 15, 2004,


Wow--first entry since Thursday.
I've been so busy, I've been neglecting the updates. But I find that I depend on updating to help me cope, so I really miss it.



The weight-loss regime continues well. I am keeping up the treadmill walking, and yesterday I did my usual 20 minute mile, then kept going at a reduced pace for another 1/4 mile. According to the scale in the gym (a doctor's scale),
As for what I'm eating, it is a matter of not over-eating that I'm shooting for, more than a specially constructed diet. I know I do the best of the specially constructed kind, but I basically have to exclude all other activity from my life, and I really don't want to do that.

I wish I could get some rest, though. I haven't been sleeping well, despite the exercise. When Spouse is gone next week, I'm commandeering his bed.

I think the best thing is when I can update regularly, walk regularly, have a little time to myself, and am not overwhelmed at work. Well, of all that, I'm only managing the walking just now.



My weekend...

Refused to work late on Friday; things to do. Ran errands, got my oil changed after work. We ordered dinner in and I finished the green bracelet.

Got up at my weekday time on Saturday, because I had to work. Got to the office early, so I could work out before spending five hours at my desk. Did a good mornings work on the treadmill and on my projects.

After work on Saturday, Spouse took me clothes shopping, to Penney's in Racine. Despite my fear and loathing of long lines and Christmas crowds, it was worth the trip. I got 3 pairs of $40 work slacks, and a pair of $40 jeans--all for 1/2 off! Plus, my bras were buy two, get one free, so that was another $16. The girl at the register took another $15 off because the purchase was over $100! .Total money saved--I got $220 worth for
$100. The down side? A) couldn't find any tops, and B) I have to hem the pants.

We also did our grocery shopping while we were out, and looked at TRU for a gift for Ty. Didn't find one, though. Oh, and we got P's gift. A seventeen-bottle 'wine-cellar' mini-fridge. On sale, great price at Home Depot.

Supper was steak, salad, bakers, and garlic toast. I did extra bakers, for "second-hand potatoes" on Sunday.

Sunday...well, I got up and took the pup for a walk, and Spouse made breakfast while we were out. After breakfast was cleared away and the house was tidied, we decided to run to Gurnee Mills to do some Christmas shopping. As we pulled into the parking lot, Spouse's phone rang, (well, actually, it played the Ren & Stimpy theme song, but that's another story) and it was JR, his little brother.

Needing a favor. Needing a ride all the way to Schaumburg.
He'd been driven home from his company Christmas Party, and needed a ride to his car.
So, change of plan. He lives near the Mills, so we swung over, picked him up, and made the long run out to S'burg. Then we went to Woodfield, thinking we'd just shop for E, since we were in upscale-mall-land.

No luck for E, as she wanted Pottery Barn, and Woodfield has none. But found a great RC truck for Ty, and I was able to replenish my body butter supply.

Then we came home, and Spouse, apparently having been bitten by the cooking bug, made himself fajitas for lunch. I abstained, as the meat was pre-seasoned, and I figured it probably had cayenne in it. Bleahh.
He also made Chop Suey for dinner. Yes, folks...Spouse cooked three hot meals in one day. That's his usual allotment for an entire month, so I really don't expect him to cook again soon.

And I did some beading, but that's detailed below.
So, that was the weekend.



I would love to write an essay here about how much I dread Christmas--about the complex emotions I have regarding holidays, and the experiences they are based on.

But I don't have the time, and I don't have the energy to face the unpleasantness, so I won't.



Work--so hard to make headway, time running out, working weekends, supervisor lost her f-i-l this morning, and won't be back for a while, thus leaving me to deal with shit and have all the problems resulting from her mismanagement blow up in MY face instead of hers. Nuff said.


Things that give me that "oh, god, I just want to die" feeling down deep inside:

  • Christmas

  • Covering for my boss at work

  • Getting ready for trips

  • Winter weather


  • Things that I have on my immediate agenda:

  • Christmas

  • Covering for my boss at work

  • Getting ready for trips

  • Winter weather


  • And while I normally love the break I get when Spouse has to go out of town on business, it really could not be more poorly timed than it is this week.
    God, I'm just sick to my stomach from all of it.


    The only high note right now is the beading -I've finished the green bracelet, and did another in the same stitch, but using fire-polish. Colors are deep, raspberry pinks--this is for D's Xmas gift, and it is finished. Now I've started another of the Crisscross bracelets using the leftover beads from D's.





    Reading: �Crowned Heads" by Thomas Tryon. Re-reading, actually--My second-favorite Tryon after "Harvest Home", this is no thriller, but four novellas with interconnected characters, about faded Hollywood stars and their private troubles. Tryon used real-life tragedies such as the torture-killing of Ramon Navarro and the downward spiral and death of Marilyn Monroe as a basis these stories.


    Listening: "Christmas Songs", a CD we bought for the BareNakedLadies/ Sarah McLachlan version of God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen/We Three Kings. It has a lot of other great stuff on it as well, including a really funny story from Stuart McLean (A sort of Canadian Garrison Keillor)


    Beading: I just finished D's (see above), and started another Crisscross bracelet using the leftover beads, for my mom.





    300-6=294-6=288-4=284-4=280-2=278-4=274-3=271-2.5=268.5-4=264.5

    recede - proceed

    hosted by DiaryLand.com